No, but you will have to upgrade eventually. And if Adobe did with Premiere what Apple did with FCP and removed functionality, you'd have no option to stay with a version. The lock-in -- and Adobe's market share (COUGH monopoly COUGH) -- would dissuade them from reinstating deleted functionality. Apple capitulated with FCP only because of the defection to Premiere, Avid, etc. They had a misstep and seemed truly flummoxed that people protested or didn't agree that the Apple way is always the best way.Except that's not true. You have a full year to upgrade when a new version comes out...it doesn't happen automatically.