direct to avid, problem with 1394 firewire audio

cyphunk

Member
with camera set to 720 24n i can directly record video from the hvx 200 using avid on my laptop. however, i cannot figure out how to get audio. i am using the internal mics and i can see in the lcd on the camera that the audio bars are responding to sound. Any idea why avid isnt importing via ohci 1394? i have avid set to 48 16bit
 
Does AVID handle both AVI Type 1 and AVI Type 2 files? The difference between them is how the audio is included in the files -- AVI Type 1 interleaves the audio and video, whereas AVI Type 2 creates separate streams for each.
 
No. In the native recording modes, NO data goes out the DV port, so you would have neither audio nor video.

cyphunk, can you play the file using any of the media players (Windows Media Player etc.)?
 
THoff said:
No. In the native recording modes, NO data goes out the DV port, so you would have neither audio nor video.

cyphunk, can you play the file using any of the media players (Windows Media Player etc.)?

sorry for the delayed response. wanted to be sure i tested this to the T before responding. Indeed, I cannot play the MXF nor AIF files using a varity of media players, including MPlayer which claims support, and VLC, Media Player, etc. The files themselves appear valid, the AIF being 1mb for a 10 second 720/24p shot and the MXF being 58mb.


additional note: if I export the project bin to quicktime I can see the video fine, but still hear no audio.

thanks
 
THoff said:
Does AVID handle both AVI Type 1 and AVI Type 2 files? The difference between them is how the audio is included in the files -- AVI Type 1 interleaves the audio and video, whereas AVI Type 2 creates separate streams for each.

i am only guessing here but i think that it is avi type two (if avi at all) because there are seperate files for audio and video... aif and mxf.
 
Try P2 Viewer to see if it gives you any audio from the MXF files recorded by AVID -- it plays both the audio and also has level meters. If it doesn't play/show audio, then AVID didn't record it for some reason.
 
THoff said:
Try P2 Viewer to see if it gives you any audio from the MXF files recorded by AVID -- it plays both the audio and also has level meters. If it doesn't play/show audio, then AVID didn't record it for some reason.

about that... can you point me to somewhere that explains how to play files in P2 Viewer (there is no simple file open, from what i can see). Thanks
 
Tools -> Setting Virtual PC Cards, click on first icon in tool bar (the Tooltip says "Entry Virtual P2 Card"), create a virtual P2 Card for the location of the CONTENTS folder and LASTCLIP.TXT file.

Once you've done that, go to the View menu, and select the Virtual P2 card into the Primary or Secondary bin.
 
THoff said:
Tools -> Setting Virtual PC Cards, click on first icon in tool bar (the Tooltip says "Entry Virtual P2 Card"), create a virtual P2 Card for the location of the CONTENTS folder and LASTCLIP.TXT file.

Once you've done that, go to the View menu, and select the Virtual P2 card into the Primary or Secondary bin.

I am slightly confused. when i did this and selected a location it created its own CONTENTS folder structure. i havent found where LASTCLIP.TXT is yet. Will look some more later.

thanks
 
Back
Top