A warning about the LA-EA2 adapter with FS100

cgalgon

While I'm rarely a contributor, this forum has been extremely helpful for me in the past and so I thought I'd post this message here. I've certainly considered that I missed something obvious that would solve the problem, and I hope someone on this forum will suggest it if that's the case.

I purchased the FS100 in January, out of enthusiasm over its low light capabilities. I'm an event videographer, not a filmmaker, and the idea of a camcorder that can do 21db with an acceptably clean image excited me, even if the camera itself had disadvantages over my EX1s. The camera's kit lens is okay enough but a little slow, starting at f/3.5, but the LA-EA2 adapter was going to make the camera compatible with faster Alpha lenses. So, over the last few months I'd been waiting patiently for firmware 2.0 to arrive for compatibility with the LA-EA2 adapter. It's worked perfectly with my NEX-5n still camera and various lenses, so I thought there'd be nothing to worry about...