Version Increment & Prevent Version Compare

markyf

Well-known member
Hi,

Can anyone set the record straight on this. For my first hack, I checked both Version Increment & Prevent Version Compare. In the Version Increment box I typed 3 and I named my file __133.

From now on, should I still check both? And is the idea that I know bump the Version Increment box by one (to 4) and save the file as __134 so that I can keep things easy and consistent? This stuff's making my head spin.

Thanks!
 
Yes, check both. I check both every time and it works like a charm.

Just make sure the number you enter in version increment is the same as the number you use when you save the .bin file.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Technically speaking, you only need to check the version compare from here on out (unless something has changed since the last time I hacked, I have not re-hacked in a month or so).

Version increment = Add a .01 onto the version number so that whatever version the camera thinks it has (1.30 for the original, I believe) it will do .01 more and therefore the camera accepts it as an upgrade (1.31). If you enter 2 then it adds .02 to the number (1.32). However, after you've done one with version compare, this is unnecessary because:

Version compare = With this checked it essentially puts the camera firmware to 0.0. At this point any firmware number is accepted as an upgrade, so there is really no reason to have to keep incrementing.
 
I incremented mine just to keep my own updates in order. So that in my folder of updates I have a series with my most recent firmware, plus if you do the increment in Ptool so that the file name in the little box says 134... AND you save it as GH1__134... that seems logical.

I'd like to think that's unnecessary though... as you're saying... and the program definitely implies that it's not necessary after the first run through, but I've been ticking both boxes and have been successful twice... so I'm going to keep doing what's working for me.

Honestly... I expect to be like you, in that I may never re-hack. Once I get the cam in a good place I'm not planning to change it again. I may already be done hacking... we'll know in a week or so after I see how my footage is really looking in comparison to some other GH1 shooters I know.
 
Ok. I'm doing it slightly differently which is why I asked the question. I'm following the "GH1 and GF1 firmware hack for dummies". According to this post:

For the first firmware upgrade ONLY
Click on Version Increment. Select it and in the entry box at the bottom enter 3. (See Step 6. why I suggest this. It is easy to remember your increment this way)

Click on Prevent Version Compare -


6. Click on Save Modified Firmware and save the new firmware as your increment in the Version Change i.e. GF1__133.bin (for 3 Version Change) or GH1__139.bin (for 9 Version Change) etc. DO NOT OVERWRITE the original firmware.
Save everything the GH1 Hack directory. Note that the modified GH1 firmware will only work on the GH1 and the modified GF1 firmware only works on the GF1.


So basically, when I save my first hack, I typed 3 into the increment box and saved as __133. I assumed the reason I did this is so I could look at the name of the file and know "hey, this is version 3 and next time I need to enter 4 and save it as __134." Makes it easier to keep track.

But the thing is, when you type 3 into the box, the Modified Firmware field actually reads 135, since it's bumping 132 up by 3 digits. I don't know if this matters at all and it's seems that when you click Prevent Version Compare it's a moot point, but I'm just trying to understand how it works. Does it matter at all what the Modified Firmware says?
 
Version compare = With this checked it essentially puts the camera firmware to 0.0. At this point any firmware number is accepted as an upgrade, so there is really no reason to have to keep incrementing.

This is essentially correct.

The whole prevent version compare/version increment business is confusing because the two options refer to the hacked FW's version number (which we'll call FW#) at different stages. I'll attempt to clear up the confusion somewhat...

'Version Increment'
This modifies the FW# that the PTool-generated FW presents itself as, to the camera.

As we all know, the camera must 'see' that the new FW is of higher FW# than what the camera already has in order to allow upgrade.

'Prevent Version Compare'
This modifies the FW# OF THE CAMERA ONCE THE HACKED FW HAS BEEN LOADED. Namely, changing it to 0.0 so that all subsequent FWs can be accepted by the camera.

From the above you can work out all the possible permutations, but an illustration of what people are doing and examples...

- Ticking both
FW is recognised by camera as version 1.3(2+X) where X = version increment number.
Once FW is loaded, the camera recognises its own FW# as 0.0

This should be done if you have unhacked 1.32 on the camera already.
As stated, the new FW can't be loaded unless the camera recognises it as 1.33 or higher. Once hacked FW is loaded, the camera will show FW# 0.0, thereby accepting any future FW#s.

- Ticking 'Prevent Version Compare' ONLY
Once your camera recognises its FW# as 0.0, you do not need to increment version anymore. For simplicity's sake you can do this for all hacked FWs after your first successful hack.

Many folk are ticking both and incrementing the FW# more each time (creating an archive of 1.33, 1.34, 1.35 etc). However, this is simply for organisational reasons.

(side note - I've only ever ticked prevent version compare, and never increment because my camera's last official FW was 1.2)

Gaawd, typing all that out I dunno if I've made it any clearer at all :)

Cheers,
al'
 
Back
Top