The reason why I ask is because on the a7s firmware download page it says
"When the update is completed, the picture profile setting is reset to the default. You can recall the registered settings from the memory card, if you did register to memory (M1 through M4) before update"
You can save settings in the M1 through M4 modes (select that mode on the dial, choose exactly which one you want to work with, edit your settings, not sure if you need a step for saving to Mx). All of that will be lost when you format your SD card.