Steadycam, Glidecam, Gimbal, or Ronin? For DVX200 Camera.

LavalleLee

Hey everyone,

I wanted to start making some test videos and I still haven't purchased a Steadycam, Glidecam, Gimbal, or a Ronin.

I was wondering what is the,

1. Best Steadycam, Glidecam, Gimbal, or a Ronin for a DVX200 (To save up for)
2. What is the cheapest Steadycam, Glidecam, Gimbal, or a Ronin for a DVX200 (To start with)

I am REALLY new to live action recording, I have been an animator for almost 20 years. It is a leap to go from animation to live action. All help is appreciated, there are so many accessories it is a bit confusing.

You sorta have to know what you're going to be shooting first, because they're different tools for different jobs and have their own personalities.

First, let's divide this up properly. You have the motorized gimbals (Ronin) which may be outfitted with something like an EZ Rig, and you have the sleds (Steadicam) which usually are accompanied with an arm and vest necessary for accommodating big cameras.

Motorized gimbals have a tendency to bob up and down with the operator. Sleds have a tendency to "float" when improperly flown. You can always get better at your flying skills to make sure the horizon stays nice and level with a Steadicam, but a motorized gimbal is always going to bob. An EZ Rig might help. An arm and vest help even more.

I'm also going to assume you mean to fly the DVX200. So you need a rig that can support at least 10lbs to accommodate the camera and a big battery with some room to spare for maybe an external recorder, just in case. 6 lbs plus peripherals, basically.

If you go the Ronin route, you need a motorized gimbal that can support the weight AND the size of the camera. The Steadicam route is much easier.

I'm a Steadicam guy, so I'd personally go in that direction. I just like to have my hands on the device instead of a motion control, I guess is one reason.