Sony transfer utility- potential problem.

MBradshaw

Member
I've noticed something recently that could easily result in lost footage. On the cards the files are names 0001.mts etc but when you use the pmb utility to import them from the card and it rejoined spanned clips etc there is a huge issue in my opinion.

The files are named according to the date and time the file started recorded. That's all very good but I have two fs100's that I use for weddings and if the cameras start recorded in the same minute you have two files that will be created with the exact same filenames. If the filename already exists it's very easy to think you already have it and not bother transferring it from the other camera.

Thankfully, I noticed this before I formatted the cards but if you use two or more fs100s be careful.

On my z7's you could change a digit to make each camera make unique filenames. If anyone know how to do this I'd be greatful.

Hope this makes sense.

Michael.
 
Yeah - naming clips and PPs is simply primitive on the FS100; still hoping it will be improved with a firmware upgrade.
 
Good catch. I will remember this I also shoot with two FS100'S.

I've noticed something recently that could easily result in lost footage. On the cards the files are names 0001.mts etc but when you use the pmb utility to import them from the card and it rejoined spanned clips etc there is a huge issue in my opinion.

The files are named according to the date and time the file started recorded. That's all very good but I have two fs100's that I use for weddings and if the cameras start recorded in the same minute you have two files that will be created with the exact same filenames. If the filename already exists it's very easy to think you already have it and not bother transferring it from the other camera.

Thankfully, I noticed this before I formatted the cards but if you use two or more fs100s be careful.

On my z7's you could change a digit to make each camera make unique filenames. If anyone know how to do this I'd be greatful.

Hope this makes sense.

Michael.
 
Just as an add on, a simple way to avoid this is to tick the create new folder option when you import the clips through picture motion browser. Then each card goes into a new folder avoiding the risk of an overwrite. That's my way around it for now.
 
Back
Top