Al MacLeod
Well-known member
This is a tale of "Caveat Emptor".
I just got off the phone with Dan Montgomery of Imagine Products, the maker of Shotput, a P2 card offloader.
We discussed the email he sent out today. Perhaps you got it as well. It read IMPORTANT! Update your software to be compatible with our new servers!
The email went on to explain that customers who had purchased Shotput were going to lose the ability to transfer the product from one computer to another.
The only way to retain the ability to transfer the licence he said was to buy a new version of Shotput, namely Shotput Pro.
Dan went on to say on the phone that other software mfgs. follow this same
business model...such as Adobe.
Imagine you bought a new i7 based machine to replace an old pc only to find out Adobe had removed your ability to transfer your CS3 apps because CS4 had been released! New machine? Buy all new software? I guess we are Lucky Dan isn't working for Adobe!
Now this may seem to be a garden variety flame (well, maybe it is) but is this
deletion of functionality after purchase fair?
Do you want other software makers to follow Imagine Products lead and change the terms of use after you pay just to force you to buy the same software all over again ?
Does anybody support this kind of tactic??
PS...I told Dan I was going to post this. He said "go ahead".
I just got off the phone with Dan Montgomery of Imagine Products, the maker of Shotput, a P2 card offloader.
We discussed the email he sent out today. Perhaps you got it as well. It read IMPORTANT! Update your software to be compatible with our new servers!
The email went on to explain that customers who had purchased Shotput were going to lose the ability to transfer the product from one computer to another.
The only way to retain the ability to transfer the licence he said was to buy a new version of Shotput, namely Shotput Pro.
Dan went on to say on the phone that other software mfgs. follow this same
business model...such as Adobe.
Imagine you bought a new i7 based machine to replace an old pc only to find out Adobe had removed your ability to transfer your CS3 apps because CS4 had been released! New machine? Buy all new software? I guess we are Lucky Dan isn't working for Adobe!
Now this may seem to be a garden variety flame (well, maybe it is) but is this
deletion of functionality after purchase fair?
Do you want other software makers to follow Imagine Products lead and change the terms of use after you pay just to force you to buy the same software all over again ?
Does anybody support this kind of tactic??
PS...I told Dan I was going to post this. He said "go ahead".