Shogun Inferno v. 8.31 with FS700

laflippin

New member
Hi Folks,

This forum is clearly inhabited by more Odyssey users than Atomos users; however, the Shogun Inferno has turned out to be a very good choice for my videography.

It does a great job recording the 240 fps 2KRAW output from my FS700 in any of three different ProRes formats. Even has "Pre-Roll" buffer function that triggers simultaneously with the camera "record" activation.

My one small gripe, that was supposedly addressed in firmware update 8.31, is that I can easily fill a 480 GB SSD with data using a combination of high frame rate and high resolution...I don't mind editing out all of the crap on a workstation in post but it's always been slightly irritating that I cannot simply erase any unwanted clips from the SSD using the Inferno in the midst of a shooting session.

Okay, so I downloaded 8.31 from Atomos' website and uploaded it onto my Inferno. Checked the Inferno "info" icon--yep, the machine reflects that 8.31 is loaded on there.

However, I do not see any new buttons or icons that appear to be related to the Secure Erase function that is alleged to be a part of this upgrade.

Anyone got any help for this?
 
Secure Erase function is not what you think it is. This function is there for permanent deletion of clips - useful when you rent Inferno with ssd's and you want to be sure, that ssd was erased. Because of formated disk can be restored.
 
Thanks KrocanX--I'd still like to know how to use Secure Erase. I can't figure out where "Secure Erase" is within the Inferno's 8.31 menu. Assuming that I did want to permanently delete clips, can Secure Erase do that selectively or is it "all or nothing"? Either way, what is the step-by-step routine for calling up Secure Erase on the Inferno and using it?
 
Okay, a little follow-up on KrocanX's comments. An Atomos rep got back to me and confirmed KrocanX's point that Secure Erase is for permanent deletion of clips....in fact, it unselectively erases the entire SSD, so Inferno users cannot selectively delete clips from their SSD until the SSD is connected to a computer.
 
Back
Top