HVX200 won't "DISCONNECT" over USB?

dv416

Well-known member
been having issues with the firewire port on my HVX. the headphone jack is goofy too, so i think that whole section of the camera is failing. needless to say, i switched over to using USB to transfer off the p2s.

all is well, in terms of connecting and transferring. in fact, i am getting much better transfer speeds over usb. may have to do with failing firewire port...

my PROBLEM is that i can't seem to safely disconnect the camera from the computer after transferring. ejecting each volume from clears it from the finder , but the "CONNECT" prompt never switches over to "DISCONNECT" on the HVX. this means it is still active, and not safe to disconnect, correct?

the only way i have found to make it say "disconnect" is to completely turn off the computer. this is very inconvenient in a field shooting environment. anyone experience this problem and know a solution?

For the record, i am using a late 2009 macbook pro. i just read something about HVX USB incompatabilities with mac. this may be what they're talking about?

thanks for your help
-dv
 
That's the way to do it. When in USB connect mode- you must turn off the camera to disconnect. No way around it.
Jim
 
jims right. thats the way it works. once youre done. just eject it from the computer. then power down the camera. IN THAT ORDER

may have to do with failing firewire port...
nah. i found that usb was always faster. regardless of what the specs say.
 
i am confused. powering down the camera, when it says "CONNECT" is a safe way to disconnect it? to me that's akin to pulling the plug on a hard drive that's still in use, ie very bad. what i'm saying, is the only way for me to get it to say "DISCONNECT" in USB mode is to completely turn off THE COMPUTER, which is a huge hassle.

in firewire mode, this was never a problem, as manually ejecting the mounted p2 in the mac's finder would always switch the HVX over to say "DISCONNECT."
 
It's still the correct way to do it. Once you drag the no name icon to the trash- turn the camera off to disconnect.
Jim
 
+1 There is no problem. Once the computer has disconnected your safe to turn the camera off, no files are being accessed. On a PC it is the "safely remove" and on the Mac "drag to trash".
 
Back
Top