How to change Sony A7S II presets?

Beeboop

Active member
I can't figure out how to change the presets. From my understanding, the numbers 1 and 2 on the dial knob are custom preset settings. How do I change number 1 to record 4k and save that setting?
 
Speaking from the original A7S....

STEP 1: Set your settings as required (i.e. resolution, frame rate, file type, exposure...etc).
STEP 2: In the [MENU] under the [CAMERA ICON] go to page [8] and enter into the [MEMORY] submenu.
STEP 3: Click on submenu [1] or [2] which correspond to the hard button "1" or "2" to assign your camera's settings.

There are also soft buttons [M1], [M2], [M3] and [M4] which give you four more memory presets but you can only access by manually selecting them once you have turned the dial to "1" or "2". M1, M2, M3 and M4 are global to dial "1" and "2".

WARNING: If you format your memory card you will LOSE all of your memory presets.

Hope that helps.
 
But you don't have to format, I just manually delete the files from my computer or from the camera.
In my experience, after some iterations of doing this, the card will start having speed issues, then, after even more iterations, it will start having reliability issues. YMMV, but there's a thread somewhere here about why formatting is better than deleting.
 
In my experience, after some iterations of doing this, the card will start having speed issues, then, after even more iterations, it will start having reliability issues. YMMV, but there's a thread somewhere here about why formatting is better than deleting.

I thought because SD Cards are solid state that random access is nearly instantaneous which is why I am lead to believe that formatting/defragging is not needed.

I believe only spindle based drives (slow random access) require formatting/defragging over time in order to ensure each bits of data are arranged efficiently for better read/write performance?
 
WARNING: If you format your memory card you will LOSE all of your memory presets.

Just to clarify, if I am not mistaken, you will lose all of your soft M1, M2, M3 and M4 presets -- but I don't think the hard Dial 1 and Dial 2 presets are erased when the SD card is reformatted, be it in the camera -- or on a computer.
 
Back
Top