FCP Renders of Motion Graphics causing color distortion?

Andor

Active member
I was goofing around and making an intro for videos my guild in WoW may make. For some reason, there's this color distortion no matter how I try rendering the footage.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: No media files are hosted on these forums. By clicking the link below you agree to view content from an external website. We can not be held responsible for the suitability or legality of this material. If the video does not play, wait a minute or try again later.
I AGREE


That's the intro so you can see what I'm talking about. Anyone else have this issue? The sparkles have been rendered in various resolutions before being imported into FCP... Should I just make the whole visual side in Motion instead of layering rendered segments in FCP?
 
Please give your full system specifications, what computer, what drives, what camera or deck, how everything's connected, what settings are on the media, what settings you're using in Final Cut, and finally what version of the software, of the OS, and of QuickTime you are using.
 
System:
Macbook Pro 15"
-2.66 GHz Intel Core i7
-4 GB 1067 Mhz DDR3
-500 GB SATA Drive @ 7200 rpm
-Mac OS X 10.6.4 (10F569)
-Final Cut Studio (FCP7, Motion4, etc).
-Quicktime Version 10.0 (114)

Everything is fully updated to the newest version as far as I know (and as far as Software updater tells me).

If you literally mean camera by "what camera or deck" ... I didn't use a camera for this. I created it inside of motion, rendered each segment as its own file, and then layered said files using FCP. I will try creating the full video inside of Motion asap, but even if that works that wouldn't answer my question as to why layers inside of FCP caused the distortion. Thus, I wanted to reply to you anyway.

The media:
All files from Motion were created using HDV 720p60. During Export from Motion I just went to File > Export > Rename (left all settings at default). Load the file into FCP, position it how I liked, then went to File > Export > QuickTime Conversion > h.264 video codec, .mp4 container, 10 mb/s stream. (Following http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=154352&highlight=Export+YouTube )

Also, I have tried exporting in many more formats including various .mov ones. It all ends the same. This color distortion is not seen inside of FCP, only after export.
 
Can I ask why you used a HDV project setting? Why not work in Pro Res both in Motion and FCP?

And what are the default settings in Motion? You control that in the Preferences section.

They could be any codec.

What codec, frame rate, and size was the exported videos from Motion?

My guess that you are starting with heavily compressed in Motion, and compressing further on export from Motion and then export from FCP.

But details are important on project, export, and editing settings.
 
Can I ask why you used a HDV project setting? Why not work in Pro Res both in Motion and FCP?

And what are the default settings in Motion? You control that in the Preferences section.

They could be any codec.

What codec, frame rate, and size was the exported videos from Motion?

My guess that you are starting with heavily compressed in Motion, and compressing further on export from Motion and then export from FCP.

But details are important on project, export, and editing settings.
I've been using an HDV project setting and not Pro Res because I'm a complete noob. How do I switch it to Pro Res? When I start motion and go to "new project," I don't see a Pro Res option in the drop-down menu...

Looking at an exported file: *from right click > 'get info'*
-Codec = ap4h
-size = 30.1 Mb

Looking at the SAME exported file through FCP:
-Compressor = Apple ProRes 4444
-Date Rate = 2.9 MB/sec
-Vid Rate = 59.94
-Size = 28.7

I was unsure what you wanted to see exactly in the Preferences section, so I took a screen shot:
motionl.png
 
Create a new project.

Then in the Edit menu is a Project Properties choice. Or hit command-j.

Use it to set the properties. Stay in the a lossless or near lossless setting. Match the export properties with the project properties.

Then match the FCP sequence settings with the export settings of the movie.

You not want to move between different codecs, etc during this process.
 
Back
Top