FCP Canvas Different from Burnt DVD

aleebee156

Active member
I haven't been able to figure this out. I have a 24p edit that i filmed in 24pa, im editing in FCP6 on a 24p timeline and everything seems to be going normal and just fine. except, i burnt a dvd through DVD Studio Pro and what was burnt was not what i see in FCP when im wathcing in the Canvas.

Heres what I did, i pulled down clips into my sequence and trimmed off the unneeded front and tail ends of the clips, some of them were a solid 30 second trims, so that i only had the footage from the clip that i wanted, all good right? After it is burned, those clips are not set to the timeframes that i set them to in FCP, for example: if a clips timecode went from 0:01:00- 0:05:00 (4 minute clip) and i wanted only from 0:02:30-0:02:55 in the sequence, then i trimmed to that and everything seemed fine in FCP, but once burned it is showing the clip from 0:02:10-0:02:35, whats the deal?

Also, it is even wackier when i send the sequence to Color, but im just a novice with Color so im not really sure whats wrong there.

Any help is much appreciated.

NOTE: if i go back to FCP and adjust the clip forward to the footage that i don't want, once it is burned from DVD Studio Pro, it is the footage that i wanted, but i can't get it exact.
 
I haven't been able to figure this out. I have a 24p edit that i filmed in 24pa, im editing in FCP6 on a 24p timeline and everything seems to be going normal and just fine. except, i burnt a dvd through DVD Studio Pro and what was burnt was not what i see in FCP when im wathcing in the Canvas.

I've heard of this happening before. Try trashing FCP prefs and relaunching.

Heres what I did, i pulled down clips into my sequence and trimmed off the unneeded front and tail ends of the clips, some of them were a solid 30 second trims, so that i only had the footage from the clip that i wanted, all good right?

Not part of the solution, just a question of practice... you know that you can set your IN and OUT points in the viewer and then drag the clip to the timeline, already trimmed to what you need, right?

After it is burned, those clips are not set to the timeframes that i set them to in FCP, for example: if a clips timecode went from 0:01:00- 0:05:00 (4 minute clip) and i wanted only from 0:02:30-0:02:55 in the sequence, then i trimmed to that and everything seemed fine in FCP, but once burned it is showing the clip from 0:02:10-0:02:35, whats the deal?

Also, it is even wackier when i send the sequence to Color, but im just a novice with Color so im not really sure whats wrong there.

Any help is much appreciated.

NOTE: if i go back to FCP and adjust the clip forward to the footage that i don't want, once it is burned from DVD Studio Pro, it is the footage that i wanted, but i can't get it exact.

Again, I think there's a problem with the plist. Trash your prefs and relaunch.

But I have to ask... why are you not noticing this until after you have burned the DVD? You should be exporting a self-contained QuickTime (DV resolution), then using Compressor to convert the exported movie to DVD-ready files, then bringing those files into DVDSP and authoring your DVD. You can watch the movie at any point through that process, and it won't waste a DVD if you see a problem before you burn.
 
Yes, sorry. I do notice the problem before i burn the DVD, just not the first time.

When you say to "Trash FCP Prefs" do you mean resetting the preferences to default? Or am i totally misunderstanding you?

And yes i did know about settings in's and outs in the viewer, but im stuck in lots of old bad habits still that i'm trying to break to make things go faster and smoother. Thanks for the tip! Let me know about the Trashing Prefs deal.
 
FCP stores things like custom transitions and last settings used in a .plist file. Occasionally, this file becomes corrupted and causes FCP to do strange things. Find it in Macintosh HD>Library>Preferences. It'll be a com.apple.xxxxxxx.plist file. Throw it in the trash, then relaunch FCP.
 
What effect will this have? im sure you wouldn't have me do anything that would destroy anything, but am i safe to do this? What exactly does this do?
 
What effect will this have? im sure you wouldn't have me do anything that would destroy anything, but am i safe to do this? What exactly does this do?

All it does is delete some reference data that FCP creates for itself. The only things you will lose will be custom transitions (not the ones that are actually in project sequences, but the ones kept in your custom folder for later use). It's not going to harm any project. Occasionally, the .plist becomes corrupted and causes FCP to misbehave. Trash the prefs and FCP will rebuild a new .plist the next time it launches.

This is a pretty typical process that we've all used at one point or another. You'll be fine.
 
Back
Top