exporting to tape with Premiere Pro 1.5

caitya

Active member
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi!

Can someone kindly explain to me that how can I export a dv material from Premiere to tape (dvx100a).

I have followed what was written in Help in AP. VCR mode was on, in P everything went on nicely. On camera saying REC. But only black was recorded on tape.

Please, help someone.

Caitya
 
The process is friarly straight forward. Make certain that the camera is connected to the computer and that it is in VCR mode. Make certain that the "Activate Recording Device" option in the "Export to Tape" window is selected and that you have your time line rendered, then just start the export process.

You can verify what is going to tape by viewing either the EVF or LCD on the camera.
 
Hi khmouse!

Thank your for your answer. I checked the things mentioned by you. I have done as you said, but no recording, premiere makes camera run but recording only black signal.

????????

Any other advice?
 
hmm...is your firewire pluged in? lol

this is all i do:
plug camera to pc
turn camera onto vcr mode
have premiere open
go to the front of the timeline or wherver u need to start
hit space to play-if the footage plays in the camera lcd, youre good
hit record on the camera and off u go
...thats should be it...
 
caitya said:
Hi khmouse!

Thank your for your answer. I checked the things mentioned by you. I have done as you said, but no recording, premiere makes camera run but recording only black signal.

????????

Any other advice?

Same question as earlier. Are you seeing your timeline in the EVF of the DVX when you are exporting the project?
 
caitya said:
Any other advice?
If you are using Premiere Pro, go to Edit > Preferences > Device Control and make sure that you have specified a DV Device Control, such as DV Device Control or Matrox DV-1394 Device Control if you are trying to export a Matrox project.

- Can you capture from the camera?
- Have you tried another firewire cable?
 
caitya said:
Hi!

Nothing was seen on LCD or EVF.

OK, then the camera did exactly what it should have done, record nothing.

I would suggest trying a very simple test.

1) Start a new project.
2) Insert a counting leader (File -> New -> Universal Counting Leader -> OK)
3) Drag the leader into the timeline
4) Render the sequence (Render -> Sequence)
5) Save the project (File -> Save)
6) Verify the configuration (Project -> Project Settings -> General -> Playback Settings) make certain that the "Play Video on DV Hardware" is checked and that the "Export to Tape" is set to "Play Audio on DV Hardware" -> OK -> OK)
7) Now, make certain that the camera is in VCR mode and then try to export the short test sequence to tape (be certain that your timeline is selected and visible in the monitor window). Start the transfer (File -> Export to Tape -> Record).

Watch the EVF and/or LCD on the camera and see if the leader is displayed. If it is, then you should be successfully recording the counting leader to the tape.
 
Dear khmuse!

I tried as you said, Premiere activates the cam, REC is blinking, but only black signal...:-(

I tried another cable also.

It is a Canopus Raptor card, i have heard that there is some incompatibility issue with Premiere Pro 1.5. Is is true? maybe this is the problem. But I can capture with PP.
 
caitya said:
It is a Canopus Raptor card, i have heard that there is some incompatibility issue with Premiere Pro 1.5. Is is true? maybe this is the problem. But I can capture with PP.
As i wrote earlier, check your DV Device (Edit > Preferences > Device Control) in Premiere Pro. If you are editing a Canopus project and want to out put it to tape you must have set the DV Device to Canopus own DV Device.
 
This is not a cable issue as the NLE is controlling the camera so bi-directional communication has been established. I agree that this is a 1394 issue. As inexpensive as these are, I would just pick up another PCI 1394 card and install it into the computer. This should solve your problem.
 
Thank you khmuse! I will definitely buy another card ( as it was planned).

Averdahl! That setting you have adviced is done.
 
Caitya,

I have the Canopus Rex RT/Pro most of the time I output analog to BetaSP. But when I go out to DV over FW I do NOT use the FW connector from my Canopus breakout box. Also if you have an audigy2 ZS sound card you shouldn't use the FW port there either.

I just plug the DVX100a into the FW port in the front of the computer and PPro recognizes it instantly.

If you connect the camera in VCR mode, control it manually -put it in Rec and press the space bar do you see an image? Checking to see if PPro is outputting from the Canopus Codec you captured with.
 
Thank you all for your kind help. Decision is made, I will sell my Canopus, and buy a simple FW card.
 
I have the same problem most of the time with premiere. I just get around it by putting my cam in the VCR mode , hit record on the cam, and then just play the timeline, (with "always output to 1394" enabled ) (Matrox card)
 
Back
Top