How do you erase footage (clips) on your SD card? When you erase the footage can you re-record over it? (These sound like stupid questions, but unfortunately the owners manual does a very poor job of addressing these basic issues for people who have little experience.)
You can either format the card, or delete the clips. I don't recommend formatting, because the card stores not only your footage, but also your scene files and your metadata. If you format the card you'll lose all your scene files and metadata.
So, instead, go to delete clips and choose to delete all. That'll get rid of the footage, freeing up the space so you can record all new footage on that card.