I'm missing a piece of the puzzle. I understand the principle behind consolidating a sequence: you want to eliminate all the extraneous files to save space on the hard-drive. But I am not sure what's happening when I click on "consolidate" for a sequence.
For example, a new "sequence" appears after selecting "consolidate." But the previous one is still there. As are all the unused captured clips in other bins in the project file. I thought everything would get duplicated into a new folder/bin (all rendered effects, clips, titles, etc.) so that I could safely delete everthing in all the other bins in the project. This does not seem to be the case. And so I'm not sure then what consolidate actually does for me.
Last but not least, even if I go through and delete all the unused bins and clips manually (one by one), there are still a lot of files left over in the OMFI folder.
So...I think I'm doing something wrong. Any advice would be much appreciated!
For example, a new "sequence" appears after selecting "consolidate." But the previous one is still there. As are all the unused captured clips in other bins in the project file. I thought everything would get duplicated into a new folder/bin (all rendered effects, clips, titles, etc.) so that I could safely delete everthing in all the other bins in the project. This does not seem to be the case. And so I'm not sure then what consolidate actually does for me.
Last but not least, even if I go through and delete all the unused bins and clips manually (one by one), there are still a lot of files left over in the OMFI folder.
So...I think I'm doing something wrong. Any advice would be much appreciated!