So after finishing the project, I back it all up to an external drive, with everything, even un-used clips and sounds. But I also wanted to back the project up to a second drive where only the media used in the sequence is included. To do this I want to consolidate the sequence, and delete all media files not used in the timeline.
So I check the "Delete all media files when done" box.
I also check "Skip media files already on the drive."
And I check the "Re-link selected clips to target" box.
The result is I still have all the unused clips in my Avid MediaFiles folder. The unused sound clips are gone. But the unused video clips are all still there, making the folder unnecessarily large.
What was I doing wrong? Maybe I shouldn't check "Skip media files already on the drive"?
So I check the "Delete all media files when done" box.
I also check "Skip media files already on the drive."
And I check the "Re-link selected clips to target" box.
The result is I still have all the unused clips in my Avid MediaFiles folder. The unused sound clips are gone. But the unused video clips are all still there, making the folder unnecessarily large.
What was I doing wrong? Maybe I shouldn't check "Skip media files already on the drive"?