Lenilenapi
Carbonite Member
I'm confused about XAVC workflow.
Because I still use FCP 7 and can't use XAVC files directly I usually transcode to Pro Res for my use.
However many of my clients can use XAVC and I wish to show them how to work with Catalyst Browse or prep files for them myself.
I'm guessing that like with the XDCAM BAVC folder , i want to get the MXF files outside of the XDRoot folder.
Is that correct?
I think what i'm supposed to do is use Catalyst Browse and after choosing the correct XDRoot folder and a destination folder, hit "Transcode To". Here I pick the destination codec as XAVC-I again, and choose whether I want to create files that have been color corrected or are untouched.
What i don't get is whether this means I am re compressing my original files . I don't think so , but isn't that what "transcode" would usually mean? If I choose to "All color settings" or add a LUT, I'm not baking that in to a newly compressed file am I? In XDCAM the initial step with Content Browser simply pulls the XDCAM MOV's off the BAVC folder so they are usuable, but its not a recompression. Is that transcoding?
So what is actually going on ? Does the color correction simply add metadata or burn in . Does the same thing happen wihen "transcoding" to ProRes? Where is the metadata kept?
Sorry to be so dense, I know these are basic questions.
lenny
Because I still use FCP 7 and can't use XAVC files directly I usually transcode to Pro Res for my use.
However many of my clients can use XAVC and I wish to show them how to work with Catalyst Browse or prep files for them myself.
I'm guessing that like with the XDCAM BAVC folder , i want to get the MXF files outside of the XDRoot folder.
Is that correct?
I think what i'm supposed to do is use Catalyst Browse and after choosing the correct XDRoot folder and a destination folder, hit "Transcode To". Here I pick the destination codec as XAVC-I again, and choose whether I want to create files that have been color corrected or are untouched.
What i don't get is whether this means I am re compressing my original files . I don't think so , but isn't that what "transcode" would usually mean? If I choose to "All color settings" or add a LUT, I'm not baking that in to a newly compressed file am I? In XDCAM the initial step with Content Browser simply pulls the XDCAM MOV's off the BAVC folder so they are usuable, but its not a recompression. Is that transcoding?
So what is actually going on ? Does the color correction simply add metadata or burn in . Does the same thing happen wihen "transcoding" to ProRes? Where is the metadata kept?
Sorry to be so dense, I know these are basic questions.
lenny