Can I Transfer Final Cut Studio 2 from macbook to New MacPro?

VideMedia

Well-known member
Hey stupid question. I know I can transfer the files. But Im wondering can I transfer final cut studio from my macbook that im on now to anouther mac connected by usb or external harddrive.

I installed final cut and lost the installation cds somehow. I really hate to have to try to buy it again. I just want to make sure that I can transfer the apps and they will run fine on my new mac before I buy the new mac.

Thanks for your time
 
Really you *lost* them? Call up Apple and they will send you replacement discs if you can prove you own it.

Noah
 
I did call them. I purchased final cut from a guy for 500 bucks. So they wont help me I cant prove I was orignal purchaser. And I cant get ahold of orignal guy.
 
you'll probably need to take responsibility and purchase FCS again... definitely a good idea to keep the discs in a safe place.
 
Sounds as if it time to purchase a full license.

You cannot migrate the pro apps using either the time machine or migration assistant.
 
Well I have the original DVD's for the Final Cut Studio 2 upgrade which I have installed on my Macbook Pro. This week I am getting my new MacPro and I actually wonder how this goes if I want to copy everything from the macbook to the MacPro. I know it is going to ask me if I want to copy everything from a differenr computer and I have to connect it through firewire 800, but then what? It copies all the programms and I have to fill in all the registration codes for those programs?
 
Do not use the migration assistant to install your proapps.

It doesn't work because not all files are transferred properly.

Do an install from the original discs.
 
The "Talk Back" confirms the serial with a database. If it's been used a lot, it will kill the serial automatically. To prevent piracy.

This is not my understanding at all. In fact, there is no requirement to register the proapps at all. All you have to do is decline or say register later.

Can you provide some independent support for this?
 
You stated:

"The "Talk Back" confirms the serial with a database. If it's been used a lot, it will kill the serial automatically. To prevent piracy."

I'm asking where you can confirm that this assertion is correct.

I don't believe it is and I've never seen Apple indicate that is.

Where is your support for your statement?

It's one thing is state that you believe this is the process. It's another to indicate that it is the process
 
Alright David, I'll delete the post for you. It isn't worth it for me to describe how (and what) servers are being accessed. It's illegal here in the forum to discuss how software can be "beat" and I honestly don't feel like wasting my energy to type it out.

I was first introduced to concept a few years ago when the DOD was recruiting people for their cybersecurity programs. And playing with the concepts, and speaking to people who know much more about this than I would ever want to know. Check to see what connects you software is making behind your back when you get a chance. Some are to validate the platform, others are to check for updates, your software talks a lot more then you would ever imagine.

I was only trying to tell the guy he needs to use the serial again.
 
Every time I've ever installed FCS it requires a valid serial number to be operate. And it does not check with Apple once you've initially installed nor have the ability to kill a bad serial number.

*However* it does check your local network for the same serial number and it will not let you launch the same application if it's already running on the same network on another machine.

This is markedly different from Adobe for example which checks your serial number against the company's database on every start up and will kill it if the serial number is invalid or reported as pirated.

-Noah
 
Matty:

This was never me versus you. It was about what procedures Apple uses regarding a serial number.

You claimed Apple was somehow monitoring how many times a serial number is being coded in when an install occurred.

I've never heard of that procedure, nor have I ever seen it posted on the internet.

Nor have I, in 10 years of working with Apple, experienced that procedure.

Adobe uses a specific "activation procedure" which was implemented a couple of years ago for many, and now perhaps, all of its apps.

Apple doesn't do that. As Noah indicates, a network install is different -- understandably.
 
I don't know what you want me to say. There is a misunderstanding on both sides of the fence. There is an authorization procedure that occurs. The protocol is different between Adobe and Apple. Adobe is far more aggressive than anyone else. So I'll leave it at: There is an authorization procedure that occurs.

And that can't be debated.

PS. You wouldn't experience the procedure. You need to specifically monitor network activity. Software (in general) that does phone back, does so without your approval or your knowledge. It sends info back. And as long as you aren't looking for it, it is invisible.
 
Sounds good.

Again, I was more interested in learning what you knew.

If I appeared confrontational, I apologize. Not my intent.

best
 
Back
Top