Befuddled by Scene File Instructions: Please Help

Denniscasey

Well-known member
I've read Barry's Scene File section (page 97 in HMC Book) and watched Bernie's tutorials (which by the way are indexed completely wrong, you need to look under "How to Manage Data" to view the "Scene File" tutorial). I expect I will eventually understand the various steps (touch Scene 1 or 2; touch load; confirm "yes"; turn camera off and then when you turn camera back on voila you have loaded whichever Scene file you selected).

Because I still am not sure I am doing process correctly my critical question is: After I have loaded a Scene File, shot footage, and turned camera off for the day, what happens the next time I turn camera on---am I right that no Scene File will be loaded and camera will revert to some factory default without any Scene File loaded/enabled?




 
The last scene file settings you had used, will still be active.

Thank you Barry, but are you saying that one of the Scene Files will always be active (whichever I last used) and affecting whatever I am filming even if I do not select a Scene File when I first turn camera on after it has been inactive overnight or longer? I guess I thought I would have to open Scene File menu and select Scene1 or Scene2 when I first turn camera on to have one of them active.
 
There are always some settings in effect, yes. There's no such thing as not having the settings affecting the image. So either whatever you've loaded into scene file 1, or scene file 2, will be what is used to make the pictures you see.
 
There are always some settings in effect, yes. There's no such thing as not having the settings affecting the image. So either whatever you've loaded into scene file 1, or scene file 2, will be what is used to make the pictures you see.

Thanks again, Barry. Since I am basically a hobbyist I don't use HMC40 continuously so when I have time to learn new features it can be a case of a little knowledge is a dangerous thing. Applied to this situation it means I could seriously mess things up if I am not careful with Scene File settings. I had assumed you had to deliberately open Menu and apply a Scene File if you wanted either Scene File (1 or 2) to be affecting your picture.

Now I understand one of the Scene Files will be applied each time I turn on camera whether or not I open Menu and select one. I can always select INIT in the LOAD/SAVE/INIT selection to get back to factory default settings I guess.
 
Back
Top