Where is the "histogram" for levels in FCP?

c.g._eads

Veteran
I have the latest FCP but don't use it often. I want to lighten up the highlights in my image. I applied the "levels" filter and there's no histogram to show me the midtones and highlights and all that stuff. Where do I find it? Or is there a histogram at all?
 
Go to Tools > Video Scopes

It'll pop up a four-window layout of color correction feedback displays, one being the histogram. It's on the top right. To just view the histogram, click on the "Layout" pulldown menu and select Histogram.
 
okay, i mispoke. I don't want to just *see* the histogram. I want to use it (the way premiere and after effects work) to set my levels (you know how they have the sliders to the left and right of of the histogram that you can use to bring up the light?). Is there anything like that in FCP?
 
hey, i wouldn't usually bump this but I have to have this color corrected by tomorrow morning. Someone please help.
 
What nobody????
OK
Choose Window>Arrange>color correction
this gives you the Video Scopes, and Frame Viewer tabs.
In the time line select all the clips that you need to adjust.
then choose Filters>Video Filters>Color Correction>color Corrector 3-way
In the video scopes upper right corner the popup should read Current Frame.
In the timeline double click on the first clip you want to correct,
this loads the clip in the viewer. There is a new tab for the filter, click on it.
move the playhead into the clip, the scopes will show that frame.
Use the controls in the filter to adjust its appearance.
Now chose the frame viewer tab. This shows a split screen, with several
choices for each half. Put an In Point at the current position, and choose
In Point for one half and Current Frame for the other.

Now you can go from clip to clip and match the first clip.
just remember to double click each clip and move the playhead.

I hope this helps.
 
Sorry if this is too late, but there's a nice feature that makes color correction a lot smoother:

There are three buttons on the top of the viewer window and the sequence viewer window. The left one controls zoom, and the right one has image/wireframe controls. Those are great, but the middle one allows you to enable syncing. Switch it to open on the viewer window, and any clip you set the playhead to will automatically open. This is great if you apply a CC 3-way to all of your clips, and set the viewer window to the effects tab. You can then move through your timeline, color correcting each clip without having to always double click them.
 
Back
Top