Unused clips permanent deleting FCP

astute

Member
Dear all

Maybe a noob question, but hear me out;

I would like to know if there is a way to delete all unused clips from the harddrive from FCP.

After editting I like to keep the original project and the original files, but there is always a batch of clips left that are unused and just take in harddrive space.

I know it is possible to remove them from the project (this is what I found on google and this forum), but is it also possible to remove them from the hardrive as well?
 
I found it in an ancient FCP tutorial. But it works.

It cant be done via the media manager.
But select your browser, go to Find in the Edit menu- and select unused clips.

Then select all the clips in there and choose Make offline. Here you an choose to move them to the trash.

All is good after that.
 
Last edited:
Glad you found a solution, but you can definitely accomplish the same goal w/the Media Manager. In fact, w/the Media Manager you can trim the project down to only the sections of clips used. So, for example, if you only used 10 minutes of 60 min long clip you can use the Media Manager to get rid of the 50 min of unused media.


-A
 
Glad you found a solution, but you can definitely accomplish the same goal w/the Media Manager. In fact, w/the Media Manager you can trim the project down to only the sections of clips used. So, for example, if you only used 10 minutes of 60 min long clip you can use the Media Manager to get rid of the 50 min of unused media.


-A

That is correct, which also works, but I don't want because of possible transitions and etc. But apparently, if a clip is unused, Media Manager doesn't touch the unused clips. It copied all the unused clips to the new folder :(.
With the method I describe above I brought the project down from 20GB to just 2GB. Also with the help of Media Manager deleting sections of clips I use, this shaved off about 5GB.

Thnx for your advice anyways :) It made me look a bit further.
 
Using the Media Manager you can throw handles on the clips so that you have wiggle room at the edit points. Also, if the "include master clips outside selection" is UNchecked you shouldn't get any unused media. Sometimes the MM messes up though so I always set it to "copy" so that if screws up mid process it screws up copies of the source media and not the source media itself.

-A
 
Back
Top