i never bothering changing that checkbox when exporting a movie, in the options (the default is usually recompress checked with 'maintain data rate'), but now i started wondering whether it actually makes a difference or not.
Uncheck it. With it checked it will recompress everything upon export with a corresponding loss of quality. Unchecked, no recompression will be applied to unmodifed video.