Outputting 24PA to Mini DV

Spence77

Active member
Hi –
I’m trying to output my NTSC 24pa anamorphic project onto Mini DV and I can’t get the computer to recognize the deck. I have it connected via firewire. I captured using another deck which was DVC Pro 50 - now returned. All I want to do is play the timeline. Nothing too complicated. This is just for an informal screening.

I’m afraid that once I do figure this out my image will be stretched as well. I’m trying to change my A/V Device video settings but the setting for the deck isn’t there.

Anyone know how to do this?

Thanks
Spence
 
Turn on deck and set to VCR mode.
Start up FCP.
It should see the deck but if it complains then it can't see deck.
Try View- >Refresh A/V
Set View -> Extranl Video to firewire and External audio to Firewire.
View- > External video -> Display all frames
Set System Settings -> Playback control -> Pulldown pattern 2:3:2:3
Use File -> Print to Tape to do the printing.

If you can't connect try another Firewire cable and make sure it's securely connected at both ends. That seems to be the main issue when people have problems.
 
image stretched

image stretched

Thanks -

I'm able to output and it looks fine on the decks monitor but on a tv screen it's pretty jittery and the image is stretched like i feared. When I "printed to tape" is said that the "motion blur" was disabled - maybe that's why I see the jittering when characters move. As far as the anamorphic media - there should be a setting that letterboxes it so it will be displayed accurately on a tv monitor. hum....

Scottdvx100 said:
Turn on deck and set to VCR mode.
Start up FCP.
It should see the deck but if it complains then it can't see deck.
Try View- >Refresh A/V
Set View -> Extranl Video to firewire and External audio to Firewire.
View- > External video -> Display all frames
Set System Settings -> Playback control -> Pulldown pattern 2:3:2:3
Use File -> Print to Tape to do the printing.

If you can't connect try another Firewire cable and make sure it's securely connected at both ends. That seems to be the main issue when people have problems.
 
figured it out. created a 4:3 (DV) sequence and dragged my anamorphic media into the timeline - it automatically created a letterbox. now it will play on tv properly. Still not sure about the "motion blur" ....also now concerned with the random frame droppage because i captured my media at 23.98.
 
Back
Top