How to reconnect a clip that spans over two P2 cards?

hotchkiss

Well-known member
1. How does one reconnect a clip in FCP that spans over two P2 cards?

2. I'm downloading cards to a Powerbook in the field- no problems. If I try to download a card (from camera) to my G5 Quad the oddest thing happens. It seemingly copies the data to a folder on the G5, but when I open the folder it's empty! What am I missing ?

3. How do I cahnge permissions on the cards so that I can trash them without haveing to unlock each and every data item ?


THanks for the help
 
1) What do you mean "re-connect" a clip? If a clip spans across two cards:

FCP 5.1.1 - will read it as two seperate clips that you'll need to bump together on a timeline

FCP 5.1.2 - if both cards/volumes are accessible to FCP it will read it as one clip for you, and you can import it as such (to my knowledge, haven't actually done this myself yet)

2) You're not missing anything here, this is something I've seen complained about quite a bit. People have used various methods and various software and same deal. Basically, you need to be watchful when dragging the contents folder off the card onto your hard drives. A couple forum folk have claimed that if you drag the LastClip.txt file over first and then the contents folder that will give you better results. I have no clue whether or not that's the case, but perhaps give it a shot, see if it helps you any.

3) Because of the way OSX reads the cards, or whatever, I think your best bet on the Mac is to just stick 'em back into the camera and use it to wipe them. I'm not sure if P2 Genie or P2 Log have a built in option to do so, but perhaps you can read up on them and maybe one of them can do it (I don't use either so can't confirm).

cheers.
 
Thanks for the reply.

2. I've held the option key (per instructions from Apple) and drag the folder onto my G5, but it just doesn't copy- big head scratch...

3. I reformat the cards in camera already. I'm referring to the card data on my PB and portable drives. At present , all of the files are locked and I'm going through and manually unlocking them in order to empty the trash. Can I change the preferences somewhere so that I don't have to do this every time ?

THanks again.
 
2) You shouldn't need the option key. If going from card to hard drive, it won't move the data on a drag and drop, it will just copy it over.

3) I forget which key it is, but if you empty the trash while holding down apple, or option or control (again I forget which it is), you should be able to 'force empty' basically. Perhaps someone else can confirm which key it is to do that.

cheers.
 
Back
Top