Exporting a tiff frame

SF Geek

Active member
I'm having problems exporting a DVCPRO HD frame and keeping it at a 16:9 ratio. Does anyone know an easy way to do it?
 
Greetings from the East Bay,

I suspect the problem is that the DVCPRO HD codec uses non-square pixels.

Try exporting using Quicktime conversion.

Hope that helps,
<
 
Last edited:
Yeah, I have to e-mail frames with different looks to the editor, so QT files would be too big. I'll just send them squeezed stills if there's no workaround. Thanks.
 
I have never found a work around. I set up an 'action' in Photoshop that corrects aspect ratio-ness. It is very simple to do and that way, the computer does the annoying work for you (very fast).
 
Yo SF Geek!

I don't think you're getting it. Here's a step-by-step recipe:

1. Choose your frame in the timeline by parking your playhead there,
and hitting the i and o keys.

2. From the File menu, choose "Export Using QuickTime Conversion"

3. When the Save dialog appears, use the Format menu to choose
"Still Image"

4. Next to the Format menu, click the options button and choose your
still image format. A 1280x720 tif will be about 3.5MB. A 1280x720 jpeg
will be about 96KB if you use medium quality. You don't even have to
do anything about the aspect ratio. QuickTime does it for you.

This procedure works fine for me.

Les
 
Back
Top