DEUCE OF SPADES goes to England - need help burning DVD proper format

I will be sending promotional clips of my film to a very large event in England and they requested DVDs that are compatible with Europeen players, so I thought I should ask for help here or I might mess this up :huh::

What settings in vegas should I select to burn a DVD for Europe?

As you know, my project is 720-24PN 24fps.

Thank you!
 
Don´t know if this works in Vegas, but try this:

Render the clip out with your settings ( 720-24PN 24fps)

Then make a new timeline (PAL 16:9 720 x 576 25fps upper field first) and throw your clip at it and conform it to the timeline . That should do the trick.

Frank
 
Any European player should be able to play a 24p DVD. Do they specifically want a PAL DVD, or just one they can play?
 
Any European player should be able to play a 24p DVD. Do they specifically want a PAL DVD, or just one they can play?

Well you know they are on another system there... for example, DVDs my parents shipped me from France I could not play in my DVD player here :((...

My contact said he thinks he can play our format, but not 100% sure.

I think vegas has ability to render or to burn in DVD architect to SECAM (I think that is what their system is called, yes?) but how do I do that?

David, any ideas?
 
Our dvd's play on their pal players, their dvd's don't play on ours. You can buy a cheap pal dvd player for $50 to play the dvd's your parents sent you.
 
Our dvd's play on their pal players, their dvd's don't play on ours. You can buy a cheap pal dvd player for $50 to play the dvd's your parents sent you.


:))))))))) OK then that's great news, will simplify my life immensely :))

thank you guys!!
 
France is SECAM, a variation of PAL. England is PAL. The 24p DVD should play with no problem.

Another issue with the DVDs sent from France may be the region code. A Region 1 player would not be able to play commercial DVDs from Europe. That's not even a PAL/NTSC thing; it's a distribution protocol imposed by distributors.

DVD Architect DVDs are region-free, so that isn't an issue.
 
France is SECAM, a variation of PAL. England is PAL. The 24p DVD should play with no problem.

Another issue with the DVDs sent from France may be the region code. A Region 1 player would not be able to play commercial DVDs from Europe. That's not even a PAL/NTSC thing; it's a distribution protocol imposed by distributors.

DVD Architect DVDs are region-free, so that isn't an issue.


David, thank you so much for the very valuable info. It was very helpful!
 
Vegas has a very good help file to convert 23,976P to 25P.

If you want your project to be the same length, just render to the PAL DV template with no changes as described in the previous procedure. Vegas software will perform field rendering and frame blending, which will look just fine.

If you want to match the way feature films are transferred to PAL, follow these steps:

Render your 24p project using the NTSC DV 24p (inserting 2-3-3-2 pulldown) template.

Start a new project using the NTSC DV 24p (720x480, 23.976 fps) template.

On the General tab of the Preferences dialog, select the Allow pulldown removal when opening 24p DV check box.

Add the NTSC 24p DV rendered clip to the Vegas timeline.

Right-click the clip, choose Switches, and then select Disable Resample.

Set the ruler format to Absolute Frames.

Press Ctrl+End to move the cursor to the end of the clip.

Copy the cursor position to the clipboard:

a. Press Ctrl+G to select the cursor position in the status bar.

b. Press Ctrl+C to copy it to the clipboard.

c. Press Esc.

Change the project format to PAL DV (720x576, 25.000 fps).

In the Project Properties dialog, choose None (progressive) from the Field order drop-down list.

Return the cursor to the previous position:

a. Press Ctrl+G to select the cursor position in the status bar.

b. Press Ctrl+V to paste the value you copied in step 8.

The cursor should move to a location about 96% of the way through the clip.

From the Options menu, select Enable Snapping.

From the Options menu, deselect Ignore Event Grouping.

Hold Ctrl and drag the end of the clip until it snaps to the cursor.

You’ve just sped up the clip by about 4%, exactly matching the 24p material to 25p frame locations and stretching the audio to match.

Verify that the audio event's pitch shifting is tied to its stretching length:

a. Right-click the audio and choose Properties from the shortcut menu to display the Event Properties dialog.

b. Verify that Classic is selected in the Method drop-down list.

c. Verify that the Pitch change: Lock to stretch check box is selected.

d. Click OK.

Render the project:

a. From the File menu, choose Render As. The Render As dialog is displayed.

b. Choose a drive and folder from the Save in drop-down list, or use the browse window to locate the folder where you want to save your file.

c. Type a name in the File name box, or select a file in the browse window to replace an existing file.

d. Choose Video for Windows (*.avi) from the Save as Type drop-down list.

e. From the Template drop-down list, choose PAL DV.

f. Click the Custom button.

g. On the Video tab of the Custom Template dialog, choose None (progressive scan) from the Field order drop-down list.

h. Click the Save Template button and save this template as PAL 25p DV for future use.

i. Click the OK button to close the Custom Template dialog.

j. Click the Save button to render your file.
 
Back
Top