Best method to move a project to another computer - Vegas Pro 11

What is the best way to move a project from one computer to another where the drive letters will not be the same on the old and new computer?

My old computer had a drive "F:" that my Vegas projects were on. All assets for the project I am trying to move are in a single folder. When I move this folder with the project in it to my new computer I can't open the project and have the media online. No matter what I do all the media still points to the "F:" drive. As the project opens up I get messages that Vegas can't locate files. I have tried to replace the media and tell Vegas where the new file location one file at a time and using the "All Files" option. After the project opens Vegas still thinks it files are on drive "f:".

I'm either missing something or Vegas has a bug.
 
Hmmm... I usually just have to show Vegas where one of the missing files is, then Vegas automatically applies the same drive change to the rest of the missing files, and I then just save the project file to a slightly modified project name. Next time I open the new project file ( the one with the slightly modified name ) everything is automatically found with no complaints from Vegas.
 
2 possible different solutions:
If you are stuck, maybe you can partition a hard drive (how I believe varies depending on your version of windows) and then assign the new partition a new letter, in your case choose F. Perhaps Vegas can use the files if you put it on your F partition.

Possibly the easiest is if you have an external hard disk, put your files onto it. I assume you have C: as your harddrive, D: as DVD drive, plug in a USB flash drive which should be assigned E: by windows, then plug in the external hard disk which hopefully will be assigned F: by windows. Now Vegas should find the files as they are on F:
 
Hmmm... I usually just have to show Vegas where one of the missing files is, then Vegas automatically applies the same drive change to the rest of the missing files, and I then just save the project file to a slightly modified project name. Next time I open the new project file ( the one with the slightly modified name ) everything is automatically found with no complaints from Vegas.

This is how it should work. Must be something wrong...

You could follow wjauch's advice OR if you're working with your video on a separate drive (dedicated to video - which is how I hope you're doing it) then you could simply change it's drive letter to F. You can do this with the "Computer Manager" under "Administrative Tools" in the Control Panel.
 
Back
Top