Best bitrate to render MPEG2 file

Lynos

Well-known member
Hi guys

I am now ready to render my video in MPEG2 before importing it into DVD Architect. Last time I rendered (as a test) using the default bitrate properties I got a file only about 480 MB in size. (the footage is 11 minutes long).

I used a bit rate calculator but honestly don't really know how to read it. What's the optimal bitrate for this? What's the difference between constant bitrate and variable bitrate? What numbers should I put in?

What's the best MPEG2 file I can render out from Vegas?

Thank you.
 
Why are you worried that 480 MB is too small?

Constant bitrate gives you the same bitrate throughout the length of the video.

Variable bitrate gives you a higher bitrate when you need it (lots of motion) and less when you don't (little motion). This means you can get a longer video into the same file size as if it were constant.

You can use constant bitrate, but you don't want to make it higher than 8000 in most cases, because a DVD player may have problems playing it.

Usually, the best idea is just to stick with the DVD Architect template. It's already optimized for best results.
 
Thanks, David.

Is there any other codec you'd recommend rendering DVD in apart from MPEG2?

Also, I understand that I need to render the audio separately in Vegas. Still haven't figured out how to render the video and audio separately in DVD Architect, though... and make one file out of them.
 
Is there any other codec you'd recommend rendering DVD in apart from MPEG2?

No. All standard-definition DVDs are MPEG-2.


Also, I understand that I need to render the audio separately in Vegas. Still haven't figured out how to render the video and audio separately in DVD Architect, though... and make one file out of them.

When you use the DVD Architect templates, no audio is rendered into the MPEG-2 file. This is because DVDs don't use MPEG audio; they use either AC-3 or PCM (uncompressed WAV).

All you have to do is render your video, and then render the audio as either AC-3 or WAV (uncompressed PCM) and save it as the same file name, in the same folder, as the video. When you drop the video into DVD Architect, the audio will be automatically mated up.

If you rendering your whole timeline, it's pretty easy; you just render. If you're rendering a loop segment of your timeline, be sure to render the audio as the exact same loop.
 
No. All standard-definition DVDs are MPEG-2.




When you use the DVD Architect templates, no audio is rendered into the MPEG-2 file. This is because DVDs don't use MPEG audio; they use either AC-3 or PCM (uncompressed WAV).

All you have to do is render your video, and then render the audio as either AC-3 or WAV (uncompressed PCM) and save it as the same file name, in the same folder, as the video. When you drop the video into DVD Architect, the audio will be automatically mated up.

If you rendering your whole timeline, it's pretty easy; you just render. If you're rendering a loop segment of your timeline, be sure to render the audio as the exact same loop.

I'm having a similar dilemma. I'm helping my son edit a short film that has 13 scenes. Right now all I have are separate "veg" files for each scene. I tried to to render one of the scenes in the Vegas 8 time line using Mpeg2 24p Wide screen template and the ac3 pro 5.1 surround audio option.

However, When I try to import the files into DVD Archictect - I don't seem tohave the option to retain my 5.1 surround sound option. Seeing that I mixed some audio with 5.1 in mind, I'd like to retain that if possible.

Also - this is the first film I'v attempted to edit with multiple scenes. Is it okay to to render these scenes separately and then assemble them in a new Vegas timeline and re-render as a final output to DVD Architect? Or is there a drop in quality or better way to get to final burning?

Any help would be greatly appreciated....

Marlen
 
DVD Architect: File>Properties>Audio Format>AC-3 5.1 Surround

If you want the different parts to make up one continuous program, then you need to render them as one file.

You can do this in Vegas by bringing each VEG file into a common timeline and rendering them out as one piece.

However, this will not preserve the 5.1 mix in each separate file; they will be mixed down to stereo. It's best to combine the separate projects on the timeline and THEN do the sound mix.

You should, though, be able to render the 5.1 mixes to 5.1 WAV files and then bring them into the timeline and the panning should be preserved.
 
DVD Architect: File>Properties>Audio Format>AC-3 5.1 Surround

If you want the different parts to make up one continuous program, then you need to render them as one file.

You can do this in Vegas by bringing each VEG file into a common timeline and rendering them out as one piece.

However, this will not preserve the 5.1 mix in each separate file; they will be mixed down to stereo. It's best to combine the separate projects on the timeline and THEN do the sound mix.

You should, though, be able to render the 5.1 mixes to 5.1 WAV files and then bring them into the timeline and the panning should be preserved.

Excellent! will give that a try - thanks for the tip.
 
I've never actually TRIED the 5.1 WAV files, so I'm not sure exactly how well it works. You might need to render each track separately -- not sure.
 
I've never actually TRIED the 5.1 WAV files, so I'm not sure exactly how well it works. You might need to render each track separately -- not sure.

I was thinking that I would render all veg files on one new Vegas time line that had it's properties include 5.1. At the same time, I would copy the portions of the audio that I wanted from any of those veg files onto a "new" track that would have the 5.1 movement through the audio spectrum. Then I would do the final render. Does that sound like it would work? Most of these sound clips are are EFX such as cars zooming by and feet walking towards or away from you. So, I'm hoping it will be pretty straight forward.
 
It may work; be sure to have the "Lock Keyframes to Events" button activated. Could get complicated, though.
 
It may work; be sure to have the "Lock Keyframes to Events" button activated. Could get complicated, though.

Good catch. I'd probably have overlooked that. If I find a better way to this, I'll post it. The numbers of tracks in some scenes is already getting close to "complicated" as I'm working on one 17" monitor - so assembling all these scenes on one timeline is going to get dicey....

Thanks again for the suggestions.

Marlen
 
Back
Top