What are "lighting" pros called?

Phil

I need help with lighting. I'm not good with lighting and would like to find someone to help with my filming.

So I'll be looking for a film student or someone of the sort, but what do I put on the flyer?

Thanks
Phil

Re: What are "lighting" pros called?

check out
www.indieclub.com

You will find a directory of people in the film biz (maybe in your area) that have experience in what ever your looking for. You can even post a profile of yourself and what you have equipment wise and your experience. You may need to register to see the list of people...dont worry its free. But you should bookmark the site though.

In the US...the Gaffer is the chief of a film lighting crew and works under the direction of the Cinematographer.

A Lighting Director is also the chief of the lighting crew, but only on a television shoot (and typically only studio productions). When a production has a Lighting Director, the camera department works under the Lighting Director's direction.

In Theater, a Lighting Director designs the lighting for the set, as well as all of the lighting cues. Often times, the Lighting Director's job ends once the show is in production, with a cheaper Light Board Operator performing the cue changes during production.

To make things even more confusing, often times in Europe, the will call a cinematographer a "Lighting Cameraman".

[quote author=J_Barnes link=board=lighting;num=1095720416;start=0#5 date=09/21/04 at 08:33:29]In the US...the Gaffer is the chief of a film lighting crew and works under the direction of the Cinematographer.

A Lighting Director is also the chief of the lighting crew, but only on a television shoot (and typically only studio productions). When a production has a Lighting Director, the camera department works under the Lighting Director's direction.