DP needs computer system advice!!!

G

I saw the NLE discussion. I know that there are a few good choices and recent upgrades thereof. But first things first!
I'm a DP and lighting director who doesn't really get the whole post thing. But I'm ready to put my toe in the water if somebody will tell me what kind of computer I should get and how much memory and other stuff that is relevant. And what about software-based waveforms and vectorscopes? Help...I'm lost in what I perceive to be the ever-so-complicated world of desktop editing and post-production/NLE stuff. Thanks in advance for your expertise and patience in responding to my remedial cry for help.

Re: DP needs computer system advice!!!

Ok I will bite!

I guess it is a matter of pref. for what computer you get. I am sure you would get many DVXuser options on what to get PC or MAC.
I am PC guy myself, A system Admin on Hill AF in Utah.
I have been building PC's for about 15 years and have tried to keep up with new technology.
My experience covers everything from Manufactured computers to "Build Your Own" systems.
I build my for many different people. This is not to say that a manufactured computer is bad. It is not!
I just tell people if I bought a manufactured computer, the moment i opened it I would format and restore the system with my own software configuration. Most manufactures put unwanted and needed "shareware" Shitz software that it not needed and you will never use.
this is not including all the "TSR" Programs that load in your systray taking up valuable memory resources.

Advice:
1. Don’t get the most expensive if you are trying to save money. (There will always be a faster processor tomorrow).

2. AMD= 2600+ or 2800+ Intel= 2.8, 3.2 Gig
In regards to performance of the two the AMD has a slower front side bus than the Intel but the AMD will still out perform the Intel in most circumstances. ie.. 3200+ V\s 3.2 Gig.
The price difference is what you need to look at as well.