newbie: specific use DVX100 or DVC60 + computer???

pdient

Hello All:

I believe I am within the limits of propriety asking for your help on this forum.

I instruct at university and intend to put all of my lectures on DVD. Evaluating all the various manufacturers, and forums created by enthusiasts . . . have concluded that Panasonic is the best product for my purposes. However I need some advice here please.

I have been in a quandary over this issue for several days now.:undecided

After much pricing and bird-dogging . . . . It turns out that the cost of a DVX100B (with 5yr warranty) is within a few cents!! of a DVC60 (with 4 yr warranty) AND a PC editing system that I can build myself with the very latest Intel technology (core duo) best motherboard (2 firewire channels) and a massive raid array (4 x 200gig SATAII HDD and a PCIe raid card).

I know the DVC is a step down but my rationale is that this project will take some time as I am a novice and will have to learn so much. However, by the time I have some mastery, I anticipate HD will be much more common place and negate the better quality of the DVX. Am I mistaken that at a not too distant point HD will have the inertia to usurp SD?

Anyway, I feel compelled to consider the DVC60 as a viable alternative although the DVX100B appears to be a fine example of modern engineering put to good use!

Any help or critical evaluation would be appreciated as I have time to consider before the rebate period on the DVX100B expires.:dankk2:

[FONT=&quot]Best to all!![/FONT]

Tough decision

Tough decision

The DVC- 30 might be a better option because of its compact size. It will maximize what you can do wtih the camera, and it will give you extra money for accessories. Either camera is good for the money.

BUT...