GH2 West Side Story

stoneinapond

No, not a remake. Who would do such a thing? Just a collection of clips I'd taken over the last several months as I tested out the GH2 and my selection of lenses to try and understand focal length, aperture, and all those other things (I'm relatively new to all of this). All the clips were shot around the west side of midtown Manhattan, hence the title thread.

Lenses used:

!4-42mm Panasonic kit lens
LOMO OKC 11-35-1 35mm T2.2
Canon FD 50mm f/1.4
Helios 44m-5 58mm f/2
Olympus 12mm f/2 (preproduction model, borrowed)
Carl Zeiss Jena Biotar 58mm f/2 (borrowed)

For those interested in clips taken with the Olympus, here are the locations:

1.07 to 1.17 (ETC On)
1.32 to 1.35 (ETC On)
1.59 to 2.31
3.17 to 3.42
4.11 to 4.22
5.05 (ETC On)

Additionally, all the slo-mo clips were with the 12mm with ETC On. I now realize that just slowing down 24p footage doesn't deliver the real deal. But I like the effect achieved in FCP X, which is where this video was edited. I'm sure I'll use the dreamy, ethereal feel and hope the hack will give us 60p.

The HD file is available for download.

Enjoy. All comments welcome.

(By the way, I forgot to mention that some of the lyrics in the music track would be considered mature. So please be advised.)

Last edited:
cool video.

I'm sure you did not use the lenses wide open a lot except for the couple shots where they look super bright. And a lot of things were in focus even when panning (like the motorcycle looked completely in focus).

Were the zoom shots w/ the Panasonic? No weird aperture changes while zooming.

The slow-mo looked weird on the girl in white.

Would be funny if you caught a dvx user in all those subway scenes.

cool video.

I'm sure you did not use the lenses wide open a lot except for the couple shots where they look super bright. And a lot of things were in focus even when panning (like the motorcycle looked completely in focus).