Getting a Mark III - Can I get some Lens Opinions

Alexander1310

Alright so I'm finally getting a 5D Mark III but having my experience in Panasonic and Sony camcorders, I'm new to the DSLR world. I've been doing my far share of internet research and have seen what people are saying about glass, what lens for what situation, etc, etc, but I'm limited to purchasing only Canon Glass through a pretty deal at the moment.

I understand lens selection is widely based on shooting style and work, but I do everything from interviews, action sports, landscape, time lapses, and weddings, so I definitely need a good range; and of course there's never a one size fits all.

So here are the lenses I'm looking at getting on my tight budget. I'm probably only going to be able to get 3 and maybe possibly a fourth, but I'd like to hear some feedback on what you have or what 3 or so you'd choose if you were in my shoes so I can understand this world a little bit better.

All Canons of course:
- EF 17-40mm f/4L USM
- EF 24-70mm f/2.8L II USM
- EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM
- EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM
- EF 70-200mm f/2.8L IS II USM
- EF 40mm f/2.8 STM
- EF 50mm f/1.4 USM
- EF 85mm f/1.2L II USM
- EF 85mm f/1.8 USM

I would suggest this two ones, then start shooting and see what's missing based on real-life experience, if I may say so.

L.

I would suggest this two ones, then start shooting and see what's missing based on real-life experience, if I may say so.

L.

That's pretty prudent and sound advise. Thanks

* the 40mm f/2.8 is great for stills, but basically useless for video because of the awful focus ring (it's fly-by-wire, and it has its own mind)
* apart from that one, all the others are very fine lenses, there are lots of people shooting awesome stuff with them
* the samyang 35mm f/1.4 and 85mm f/1.4 would be very high on my list http://www.similaar.com/foto/equipment/us_lensc.html#samyang

Good to know.