Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fluid Head Tripod Recommendations

Hey everyone!

I've been using a cheap Viltrox VX18M for the last three years as I started my career and it's time for me to invest in a proper fluid head and set of sticks for the long haul! While my current camera set-up isn't anything super impressive (I upgraded from a G85 to a Panasonic S1 earlier this year), I've had several close calls where my Viltrox nearly tipped over and crashed my camera set-up due to the locks not staying locked anymore and had the quality of one rather important shot in one of my recent projects compromised by the Viltrox being unable to reliably repeat the same panning shot smoothly with any take. While I've done plenty of decent work over the last three years with this tripod, clearly the $135 I spent on the VX18M has run its course. So I began saving my pennies for a proper upgrade and have been looking at a number of different options over the course of the summer.

While I'm not quite ready to make a purchase yet, I wanted to go ahead and run my options over here with you all for feedback to best determine what the right purchase would be for me. For context, I'm not in a position to go out and properly test or rent tripods before I make my purchase, as I live overseas.

If I buy a system new, my sights have singled in on getting a Cartoni Focus 10, likely with the aluminum SDS legs. While I've heard great things about both Miller and Sachtler, I want to invest in a 100mm fluid head (preferably with continuous counterbalance) that I can use with my current S1 set-up and well beyond to more professional rigs down the line after I return to the States.