Lighting ratio questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lighting ratio questions

I'm new to cinematography. My lighting kit is not great but it's all I can afford for an upcoming video production. It consists of two Smith-Victor 250-watt lamps with 12" reflectors/barn doors both on stands, a 600watt Smith-Victor K60 quartz tungsten light and a handful of dimmers, a couple of collapsible white reflectors, a couple Grafflights and chinese lanters. In order to get my lighting ratio optimized, what would be the best setup? Would it be best to bounce the 600 watt light off one of the relectors as a diffused key and then use one of the 250 w lamps as fill or would that be a 1:1 ratio pretty much? I'm just curious what arrangement of these lights might yield the best ratio in a small interior like a bedroom or kitchen. Thanks for any input on the subject.

Best for what? interview? Drama? Comedy? Any use of the lights can be valid or invalid. I start with the story, then use the lighting ratio to enhance, or support the story There is no textbook answer, other than test, test, test. The closest thing I can say is start with a 2:1 ratio and play with it from there.

-j

Comment

This would be a lot of tense/heavy scenes with drama and suspense...

Comment

Humor a moron: ratio? I'm guessing key to fill. Do I win?
        Laying down the ad wisdom as @leeclowsbeard.

Comment

Originally posted by JasonFox
          Humor a moron: ratio? I'm guessing key to fill. Do I win?
          Exactly, key to fill ratio.

Comment

No,
            I would use the 650 as the keylight on a stand. Use a little diffusion on it- like Opal.
            Use the bounce card as a fill on the other side, and use a 250 for a backlight. You can always walk the lights in or out to get proper levels.
            I usually have a C-stand and "arm-over" the back light so that the stand is out of the shot and the backlight is in line with the camera and subject for even illumination.