Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

6D Vs. 5D Mark III - Film Student

Hey guys,
    What is the main difference between the 6D and the 5D Mark III other than the HUGE price difference. I am a film student at USC and am looking to purchase one of these cameras. I am a photographer and a cinematographer with a higher emphasis in cinematography. I see no difference that would affect quality of the video between the two cameras other than the underdeveloped ML firmware. Does anyone see a difference besides this? Am I underestimating the power of ML? Is there anything I'm missing? Thanks!!

It's basically the same image with fewer features than the 5DIII.

The 6D does show a little more moire and aliasing than the 5DIII though. But if your shot doesn't have lots of fine brick walls or clothing with patterns that are known to produce moire - then it's pretty darn close.

The one big functional difference is that the 5DIII can do RAW with the Magic Lantern hack. The 6D can kinda do it - but at lower resolution and only for a shorter time. Also the 5DIII has a CFast card slot in addition to the SD card slot - that is what allows it to reliably shoot RAW video. But again, all that adds expense.

I got a 6D just to use for low light shoots and it's been great. I like it a lot.
    __________________________________________________ ____________________
    Cameras: Panasonic: GH2, GH3, GH4, Sony: RX100 ii, Canon: 6D, T2i, 80D, SL2, Blackmagic Cinema Camera, Blackmagic Pocket Camera (x3),
    Mics: Sennheiser, AKG, Shure, Sanken, Audio-Technica, Audix
    Lights: Every Chinese clone you can imagine

Comment

The aliasing/moire is important, to me at least. YMMV.