"Zoom pulling"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

"Zoom pulling"

Does it exist in the world of DSLRs? Done a search around the forum and haven't come across it. I don't come from a camcorder background but I edit a great deal of weddings that others have shot using proper video cameras and as an editor i appreciate ceremony and reception shots which employ smooth zooming while following the subject/s as opposed to the abrupt zooms I'm used to when I'm shooting on DSLR. I do understand that for narrative work, zooming is an absolute no-no as it's unnatural to the eye. So is there an equivalent of a follow-focus made specifically for smooth zooming on DSLR lenses beside THIS ONE?

Its is a follow focus. Mounted on the zoom ring. I almost never zoom but if I have to I mount another FF.

Comment

Originally posted by jamani View Post
      I do understand that for narrative work, zooming is an absolute no-no as it's unnatural to the eye.
      Zooming is awesome! Even in narratives.

Comment

Zooms seem to be coming back a bit as they give an old-school feel. How many movies from the 50's to 80's do you see where the crane shot is just a zoom (and you think, "sheesh, that would look better with a crane/dolly...")

Watching season 1 of "American Horror Story" and man, do they overdo the little jerky zoom-ins. And they look done in post as well, like the motion blur is off.

Comment

Originally posted by jamani View Post
          I do understand that for narrative work, zooming is an absolute no-no as it's unnatural to the eye.
          So it is absolutely natural to the eye to watch little figures in color pixels on a square box known as a television or a computer monitor?

It's all unnatural, baby! It's just whatever vocabulary or syntax we are used to that counts.
          I bet many folks in the 70's didn't even realize zooming was going on while they were watching, they were so used to it.

Comment