Getting noticed at film festivals...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting noticed at film festivals...

Hey guys. I am going to shoot a feature this summer. It is an action film and I believe that it will be a great film. This film maker was telling me that without a budget, it won't be realistic and I won't get noticed when I submit to film festivals.

I am on a low budget, but I know I can do a decent job, even without real special fx and crazy budgets. I have good people helping me out, a great script, great actors. He suggested for me to shoot a short first of the film and invest all my money on that project and then people would invest so I can shoot the feature.

I don't have time to do this. I just want to get this story shot. I've been waiting for so long. I've been preparing for about 2 years already.

what you guys think?

If your script really is great, that's such a rare thing that you should definitely shoot it! And if your actors are great too, frankly I don't see how you couldn't get noticed. The problem with most films is bad scripts and weak actors. If your script is great and your actors are really talented (and you're a good director), heck, you can't lose no matter what you shoot on. The danger is your script and actors aren't as good as you hope...but if you don't make the film, how will you ever know?

Comment

budget is a problem though - why dont you think about shooting one of the best scenes in the feature - and then show that around for funding, no wasted time and no wasted money
      http://myspace.com/simplisticdesign

http://simplisticwords.blogspot.com

Comment

great script + great actors = festival recognition.