Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

A short film - how would you have filmed this differently?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A short film - how would you have filmed this differently?

Hi, I recently made a short film to go along with an arrangement of a Beethoven piece that I recently did. I am a guitarist first but am trying to develop some basic cinematography skills so that I can add visual stories to my music.

https://youtu.be/hiYUNm8qLZQ

Currently I only have Panasonic GH4 and a 12-35 mm 2.8 lens that seems to be considered very good lens for the camera. I also built a lighting kit using some LEDs and large white bowls. So not much in terms of gear! And for software I am using FCPX.

I found while doing this that I tend to think more in terms of visual ideas but then translating them into footage often presents all sorts of challenges - lighting, shot type, lens settings, etc,

Anyway, trying to learn as I go and curious if any pros or semi pros have some tips to offer, especially on how they would have gone about setting up these sorts of shots, what sorts of camera profiles they use, whether they apply LUTs or just manually adjust color to liking, editing tips.

Thanks!

Brian

How do the people at the beginning with the wine glass tie in to anything else? If there is a story, I definitely didn't get it after two watches.