Advice on real world C200 workflow and use

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

C200: Advice on real world C200 workflow and use

I had made up my mind about the c200, but I'm taking a step back before taking the plunge.

Can those of you with a C200 explain your current workflow on PC with RAW Light? I've played around some with the Canon Raw Development tool, but the DPX files being so large doesn't really make me want to go down that path on PC. I've dropped some RAW lite files in Resolve but playback isn't smooth from my internal SSD Drive. (I have a Ryzen CPU and a Nvidia 1080 Ti). What's the proxy file workflow using the cameras 2k proxy files? Do you edit with those, then replace the files then color grade?

I have no experience with RAW workflow, and figured this would be a good camera to jump into it with. I have used a C100 Mark I for about 4 years now. I mainly produce content for non-profits, businesses, and do real estate videos. Since I rarely ever hand off footage to clients, I am okay with some of the growing pains of RAW lite. I just want to know what I'm getting into. Mostly I could also be okay with 4:2:0 as no clients have ever complained about my 8 bit 4:2:0 1080p footage, but of course I'd like to step it up as much as possible on my projects. I have never shot for broadcast, and I'm not itching too either.

One big draw for me is the RAW Lite, but almost more importantly is the DPAF. I'm normally a one man band, so being able to fly on my Ronin and have some autofocus, as well as nailing some shots that I'd normally miss is a huge bonus. I also like the Canon color and can now have my C100 as a B-Cam for interviews. I also work on short film projects with a site I'm part of, so aside from bigger client projects the RAW lite would come in handy for that as well. I had planned on getting an URSA Mini Pro at one point, but it wouldn't have been usable on some of my client projects due to the low light limitations.