Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. Collapse Details
    V-lock adapter plate
    #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    421
    Default
    Hi all

    can anyone recommend a V-mount battery adapter plate that also has 12V outlet options.

    The one I was using by Smallrig https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...ter_plate.html suddenly stopped working; there seems to be no overload protection so I'm now looking for a reliable replacement.

    TIA


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,067
    Default
    I'm running a couple of Hawk Woods plates that I can move around from camera to camera. They have a number of options that might meet your needs. Have a look at the following but explore all their adapters as there are many options and specifications available.
    I've had about 10 years of solid service out of their VL-CA4 plates on Digi-Betas, PDW XDCams and the FS7. So I'm a believer so far. Also, check out the IDX plates over at BH Photo or the like. I also have one of their plates. Now both of the brands I've mentioned are internally fused. I would be surprised if the Smallrig one isn't but that's just an assumption on my part. Have you checked to see if they are fused and it's not just a blown fuse?

    Chris Young

    https://www.hawkwoods.co.uk/Cine/V-Lok/Camera+Adaptor+

    https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...ts=pi-ps&pim=Y


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Default
    It's almost definitely a blown fuse. A battery plate is a pretty simple device. Open it up and see if there's an inline fuse in there. Many even tape a spare fuse inside for you. It's likely a 7amp one.
    Mitch Gross
    Prolycht Lighting
    NYC


    1 out of 1 members found this post helpful.
    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    421
    Default
    Thanks Chris & Mitch for your replies.

    I opened the failed unit but cannot see any fuse/circuit breaker.

    I'm on a tight budget so might grab a used Lanpart unit out of Sydney (other option is Tilta from Amazon with a 2 week wait)


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,067
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by doubledark View Post
    I opened the failed unit but cannot see any fuse/circuit breaker.
    Really? I think I would be modifying the unit and putting an in-line fuse into the plate. I've used this type of inline fuse holder. The ones that take an automotive Blade fuse. They are tough, generally very reliable and easy to change. Also being fairly flat I think would fit inside the Smallrig plate. There again if there is a PCB in the plate it may have an SMD fusible link in which case it's going to need some more serious diagnostics to fix.

    Chris Young

    Blade fuse.jpg


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    421
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by cyvideo View Post
    There again if there is a PCB in the plate it may have an SMD fusible link in which case it's going to need some more serious diagnostics to fix.

    Chris Young

    Blade fuse.jpg
    It does indeed have PCB. Heard a loud 'bang" when it failed; but no component looks obviously damaged.

    SmallRig have suddenly discontinued these power solutions(they had several); I'm suspecting they all suffered a design flaw.




    I'm going to bite the bullet and buy another plate


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    1,067
    Default
    That's bad news. At least they should have some "crowbar" protection like an overvoltage Zener diode protection circuit. As you say bite the bullet and buy another brand with protection I guess.

    https://www.electronicshub.org/crowbar-circuit/

    If you are in Sydney and just want extra D Tap ports to get you out of jail in a hurry try one of these from Dragon Image. I always carry one in the run bag just in case. Last week at very short notice I needed to power an Atomos recorder a servo zoom demand and a BM UpDownCross converter at the same time and it got me out of trouble. They are solidly made with a bolt through construction and the D Tap plugs I'm using actually 'snap' into place quite securely. Not super cheap but handy to have.

    Chris Young

    https://www.dragonimage.com.au/fxlio...our-d-tap.html


    Reply With Quote
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •