Page 24 of 26 FirstFirst ... 1420212223242526 LastLast
Results 231 to 240 of 260
  1. Collapse Details
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    297
    Default
    Yet another firmware update (with usual odd numbering: now 1.6.0), this time with a video about it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yXuewOlvecg

    The standalone recording doesn't seem hugely appealing to me (why not monitor if you can: clothes noise is such an issue with lavs), but the pad is of use. Not sure what level of pad it is though: nothing in the video and still no firmware info. But good that Rode are increasing the functionality, and, indeed, they promise more.

    Cheers,

    Roland


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    Senior Member scorsesefan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    2,060
    Default
    Hopefully 32bit float will come soon...


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    Default
    So I was using my units yesterday - with the new firmware - and have run into an odd and somewhat concerning problem

    On one of the units I'm getting a frequent faint but noticeable click.

    You can hear it on this clip here:
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1pl9...ew?usp=sharing

    It's particularly noticeable when it's quiet (eg the other person is speaking).

    It only happened on one unit but happened repeatedly through the day, and seemed to happen whether I used a plug in lav or the built-in mic.
    It's never happened before and when I tested it again today it didn't seem to happen.

    Zooming into the wave form it seems to be an incredibly brief click - as if a single byte was going wrong.

    Anyone else experienced anything like this?
    Nathan Williams - Documentary Film Maker
    Loves the Lumix GH5 / Blender / DJI Mini 2
    www.nwilliams.co.uk


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    Senior Member scorsesefan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    2,060
    Default
    Sounds like RF hits to me but maybe someone with more audio expertise can chime in...


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    Default
    But I'm getting the clicks on the backup recording on the TX unit.
    I know that RF can cause problems with wireless transmissions but can it cause issues with an internal recording?
    Nathan Williams - Documentary Film Maker
    Loves the Lumix GH5 / Blender / DJI Mini 2
    www.nwilliams.co.uk


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    Senior Member scorsesefan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Queens, New York
    Posts
    2,060
    Default
    Good question. I know that wired mics can sometimes get RF interference from poor cable shielding but this scenario is different. You might want to post this in the audio section and let the experts there take a crack at it (Alex H, Rick R, Paul F. etc.)


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    West of the Pecos
    Posts
    2,649
    Default
    It sounds more like dropped bits or corrupted bits in the digital domain rather than RF hits. Meaning once the analog has been converted to digital, somewhere along the path, a bit(s) gets corrupted.
    Awarded Best Clear Com Chatter, 2001, PBS Television


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    Admin Luis Caffesse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    11,148
    Default
    Nathan - is this the same unit you mentioned had a dropout at one point in your internal recording?


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    Moderator Alex H.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    8,322
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by nathankw View Post
    But I'm getting the clicks on the backup recording on the TX unit.
    I know that RF can cause problems with wireless transmissions but can it cause issues with an internal recording?
    The short answer is that it is possible. All the stuff housed together in that little unit - pre-amp, A/D converter, recorder, transmitter - can be problematic if they aren’t all properly shielded from each other. But your recording, as Paul mentioned, sounds more like sample rate error. With this being a new issue since the update, it’s possible the new firmware mucked with the A/D conversion or the recording function and it’s dropping bits here and there.
    Knoxville-based location sound mixer.

    Instagram @sonolocus


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    Default
    Good question. I should have made a note of which unit it was that had the glitch before.

    I think it was the same one but can't be 100% sure.
    Nathan Williams - Documentary Film Maker
    Loves the Lumix GH5 / Blender / DJI Mini 2
    www.nwilliams.co.uk


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 24 of 26 FirstFirst ... 1420212223242526 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •