Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 48
  1. Collapse Details
    c300 mkii with DJI RS 2?
    #1
    Senior Member New_Zealand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Alaska and New Zealand
    Posts
    1,797
    Default
    Has anyone used the DJI RS 2?


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member puredrifting's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, Ca.
    Posts
    11,457
    Default
    C300 MKII on a one handed gimbal? Are you a masochist or something? ;-)
    It's a business first and a creative outlet second.
    G.A.S. destroys lives. Stop buying gear that doesn't make you money.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    944
    Default
    Yeah. That's gonna be painful. I tried my C300 Mark III on my RS2 just for fun and it SUCKED to use.
    JERBCO, Ltd.
    jerbco.com

    Web | Video | Aerial


    1 out of 1 members found this post helpful.
    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Default
    It works wonders when fitted to the crane.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    1,813
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by jbregar View Post
    Yeah. That's gonna be painful. I tried my C300 Mark III on my RS2 just for fun and it SUCKED to use.
    How were the motors handling? If good, there’s still the option of tilta ring with easy/ready rig for a cheaper ronin 2, performance pending. I’d probably prefer a cheaper, used c200b than a full price c70.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member New_Zealand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Alaska and New Zealand
    Posts
    1,797
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by puredrifting View Post
    C300 MKII on a one handed gimbal? Are you a masochist or something? ;-)
    was just thinking it might be a good way to build up my arms muscle as I was filming :-) but all aside, what would work with the C300 Mkii without having to invest in a full body stabilizer


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member ahalpert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,729
    Default
    I *think* the gimbal can handle the weight. I think their question is if you'll want to carry it.

    You could simply get a dual handle grip for the unit or a ring grip. You could get a steadimate-s which would transfer the weight to your core, but I don't know if that's what you mean by a full-body stabilizer. I think that people who fly heavy gimbal rigs for long durations usually seek to transfer that weight off their arms.

    I just bought a smallrig sidehandle for my Ronin-S that attaches to the bottom of the battery grip. I think that a dual handle (2 side handles) is probably best, but i still need to access the unit controls. I got it mostly for added stability on close-up shots, but I think it will also help distribute the weight of heavy loads across both arms as well. I bet i could fly a C300mk2 on it just fine for short durations.


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Senior Member New_Zealand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Alaska and New Zealand
    Posts
    1,797
    Default
    any thoughts on the CRANE 3S Pro?


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #9
    Senior Member ahalpert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    NYC
    Posts
    3,729
    Default
    It has a 14.3lb load capacity, even higher than the Ronin-S. It doesn't look like it has any clearance issues in the back. They picture it at b&h rigged with a Canon C-series camera and a RED.

    But the larger issue that everyone raised still remains - do you want to carry that much weight on a single-grip gimbal for an extended period of time?

    My guess is that either rig will work with the c300mk2. The crane 3s pro would probably work more easily or at least with a greater range of lenses and accessories


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #10
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by New_Zealand View Post
    any thoughts on the CRANE 3S Pro?
    I've used the Crane 3S with my Fs5 and it gets tiring *very* quickly. Holding all that weight out in front of you is just awkward. It works fine once you get the camera balanced (a bit tricky, but gets easier as you practice) but I don't think I'd want to hold it for a shot longer than 3-4 minutes. And after a full day of using it I was pretty wiped (and I consider myself relatively strong).


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •