Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 123456713 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 146
  1. Collapse Details
    #21
    Default
    Can anyone help me with my problem importing? Please see my post at the top of page 2


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Posts
    156
    Default
    If Avid does not support, it does not support, and therefore you cannot import. The latest beta version is supposed to handle XDCam but I haven't used that media in awhile.

    I was going to upgrade my AE to 7.0 but it does not support MXF as reported. Would be great if WMP could save as another file that Avid would accept, but that would be asking too much for a 'free' program.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #23
    Cinematographiliac DC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, California USA
    Posts
    2,096
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by randomprandom
    I am running Avid Xpress HD 5.2
    Avid Xpress Pro HD version 5.2.x

    Fill in the x. The process I wrote about was tested for version 5.2.4 only.


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #24
    Default
    The program says "Version 5.2" so I assume 5.2.0?

    Joe Digital- FYI- I am importing HVX 720 24p footage... the error says "The import file is not a supported XDCAM MXF file."

    Did Avid start supporting HVX HD footage in version 5.2.4? It thought it was advertised to work with version 5.2

    EDIT- One thing I noticed was that the Media Tool did not see my files/folders for the Avid Media files. Do I have to move the folder to the root drive?
    i.e. c:/avid media files/mxf/1 ?

    Right now the drive is under c:/avid/Supported files/avid media files/etc... I'm not sure about the supported files.. its a dir like that. I'm not in front of it right now.

    I guess I'm gonna move the avid media files dir around until the media tool sees the files?? Let me know if it sounds like i'm on the right track. ALSO- let me know what the media tool is supposed to look like when there are files to import. Right now it asks me to choose a drive... It lists my system/raid drive and my DVD drive.

    TIA

    EDIT2: Nevermind... My Avid Mediafiles folder was named Avid_mediafiles... I got rid of the "_" and the media tool found the mxf files and imported them.

    Always something easy.. ehh?
    Last edited by randomprandom; 06-14-2006 at 08:08 PM.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #25
    Cinematographiliac DC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Los Angeles, California USA
    Posts
    2,096
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by randomprandom

    EDIT2: Nevermind... My Avid Mediafiles folder was named Avid_mediafiles... I got rid of the "_" and the media tool found the mxf files and imported them.

    Always something easy.. ehh?
    Glad you figured it out. Gotta follow those instructions exactly as written when it comes to the directory structure.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    170
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by wjasonspencer
    Just as I feared... After Effects doesn't import MXF footage. Looks like nothing does, except the few frame rates/resolutions Avid and other editors support. Focus Enhancements is releasing a converter that works with their hard drive recorders. Oh well, just a test. At least I know now what I can and can't shoot in the real world.
    If you have an Avid system, you can get your MXF footage into After Effects real easy: Drop all your footage in a sequence, and export that sequence as a Quicktime Reference. This takes about 1 second. Import in AE( another second), et voila.


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    Adrenaline and MXF from Firestore FS100
    #27
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    20
    Default
    Has ANYONE had success with the HVX200/Firestore FS100 Avid workflow. I have been testing for 3 weeks now and can't get the Media tool to recognize ALL of the video/audio files in the contents folder. I've been following all of the threads concerning file structure (Avid MXF files/MXF/1) but the media tool will not show all of the files. This problem is happening on 2 different Firestore FS100, both with the new firmware upgrades!

    RECENT TEST: Shot 5 scenes with the HVX100/Firestore 100, powered down all equipment and moved to 2nd location. Powered up the equipment and shot 5 scenes (10 total on the FS 100) Organized P2 and copied the Contents folder to my NLE. In the video folder there are10 files and in the audio folder there are 40 files. When I open the Media Tool in the Avids (see system specs below), I can only see the first 5 scenes!

    Setup:
    PC HP XW8000 Adrenaline ver 2.24, 3 gigs ram, 1.7 terrbytes Avid drives
    AND Compaq nw8000 laptop with Avid Xpress HD ver. 5.2.4.

    Footage was shot 16:9 30P Pro50 for one test camera test and 720 60P for a second camera test.


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    170
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by bkkcom
    Has ANYONE had success with the HVX200/Firestore FS100 Avid workflow.

    We have been testing the same thing on XpressPro's and Newscutter Adrenalines with the same results: The first captured files transfer fine, but files that are captured later on don't arive at all. Even if we manually copy them to the mediafiles folder. Same goes if we set the capture settings to OMF.

    We're still looking for a solution as this is very annoying.


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #29
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA
    Posts
    20
    Default
    thanks for your reply, I was starting to think I was the only one.......there is now a thread running on creativecow with other users with the same problem. This is really hurting my business after pushing my clients to the DTE mentality. Now I look like the fool.

    As long as I shoot ALL of my clips in one location and don't shut power cycle the Firestore, it works. Now someone tell me how practical this is in our business!


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Posts
    156
    Default
    OK perhaps I am an idiot but when I create the Avid MediaFiles & MXF & 1 folders, the Media Tool doesn't see the MXF files at all...I've created the folders (but they show up as back slash not forward). The files exist as I can import them into DV Film Maker, but Avid will not see them otherwise. They are labelled as a Day 2 card 1 with the video and audio sub-folders. Is this wrong? I've also found that making sure the folders are not read-only helps when moving folders around...otherwise the media inside is inaccessible. It says it cannot open folder, and if you try to undo, it won't let you do that either. Sorry to bug but I'm about to climb a tower with a high powered rifle if I cannot figure this out.


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 123456713 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •