Page 3 of 25 FirstFirst 123456713 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 248
  1. Collapse Details
    #21
    DVXuser Sponsor vidled's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Lake Wallenpaupack
    Posts
    1,958
    Default
    "Here's a fun one. The scene file settings allow you to bypass the ranges in the camera. Whether this actually effects the picture or not I haven't tested, but as a test one might try this:

    Set
    00005002: 5 ; DETAIL CORING : -3
    in your scene file on the SD Card on your PC. Read the Scene in to the HVX.

    Voila! I think you can do wacky things like enable News gamma in Film mode (news at 6, film at 11?).

    Probably the easiest way to see if this really does anything is to set the frame rate to some of the new choices. For example, you can set it to 8,14,16,27, or 28 frames. Do they work? You tell me.

    0000500F: 9 ; FRAME RATE: 16FRAME

    DISCLAIMER: Don't come crying to me if you mess up your camera. Try it at your own risk."


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #22
    Default
    Yes, Vidled found the post. Yes, that's the technique, and yes -- it unlocks two dozen more variable frame rates!

    Here's the deal: support for the other frame rates appears to be implemented but UNTESTED. There can be NO GUARANTEE that you won't screw up your camera if you try this! Okay? Everyone understand? If you get P2 MICON errors from doing this, or "unrepairable clips", or any other weird problems, it's because it's unsupported!

    Jan told us that for every frame rate Panasonic added, they spent a lot of time testing it in every possible configuration. As an ex-programmer I can surmise that the engineers probably roughed in the framework and that it basically works, but there was only so much time to certify the various frame rates before releasing the product to the public. Any frame rate that they didn't include in the first place is, BY DEFINITION, UNCERTIFIED.

    Neither Panasonic, nor me, nor ChakaMonkey, nor Jarred, nor DVXUser will be responsible for anything that happens to you or your camera if you decide to EXPERIMENT with this undocumented, unsupported, uncertified feature.

    Consider this almost like "overclocking" -- you can now triple (TRIPLE) the available frame rates, but none of the new ones are tested, certified, or supported, and by poking around in the scene files you may inadvertently do something that fouls up your camera. And if so, it won't be covered by warranty repair.
    Last edited by Barry_Green; 04-10-2006 at 01:33 PM.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #23
    Member dglasgal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Hollywood, CA
    Posts
    81
    Default
    so what if you can add running time to a p2 card by going to 2fps- why would you want to shoot at 2fps anyway?


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #24
    Senior Member DavidBeier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles
    Posts
    1,657
    Default
    ^
    Timelaps


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Canton, Ohio
    Posts
    787
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by DavidBeier
    ^
    Timelaps
    You can do that already in one of the supported modes.

    What would have been really cool is to be able to go over 60.....like 100fps. But...that is just not realistic at all for a camera in this price range.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #26
    DVXuser Sponsor vidled's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Lake Wallenpaupack
    Posts
    1,958
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by dglasgal
    so what if you can add running time to a p2 card by going to 2fps- why would you want to shoot at 2fps anyway?

    That's only ONE of the "new" frame rates!
    Got to love the fact that there is a CHOICE, no?
    Besides, Barry posted some stills from where a low FPS comes in handy.

    And yes, timelaps is one such option.


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    2,436
    Default
    Is there an engineering/technical reason the HVX can't shoot over 60?
    never updated


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #28
    Default
    Here's the procedure:

    1) Get a scene file text file on an SD card, usually by going into menu 8, CARD FUNCTIONS, and saving scene files to your SD card.

    2) Open the scene file text file in the PRIVATE\MEIGROUP\PAVCN\SBG\P2SD directory, called SCENE1.TXT (or scene2.txt, scene3.txt, or scene4.txt) using a text editor like Windows Notepad

    3) Look for the next-to-last item in the scene file. Here's what a sample scene file text file looks like:
    00005000: 8 ; DETAIL LEVEL: 0
    00005001: 8 ; V DETAIL LEVEL: 0
    00005002: 8 ; DETAIL CORING : 0
    00005003: 8 ; CHROMA LEVEL: 0
    00005004: 8 ; CHROMA PHASE: 0
    00005005: 8 ; COLOR TEMP: 0
    00005006: 16 ; MASTER PED: 0
    00005007: 8 ; A.IRIS LEVEL: 0
    00005008: 1 ; NEWS GAMMA: OFF
    00005009: 0 ; GAMMA : HD NORM
    0000500A: 0 ; KNEE: AUTO
    0000500B: 0 ; MATRIX: NORM
    0000500C: 1 ; SKIN TONE DTL : OFF
    0000500D: 0 ; V DETAIL FREQ : THIN
    0000500E: 0 ; OPERATION TYPE: VIDEO CAM
    0000500F: 0 ; FRAME RATE: DEFAULT
    00005010: BE026801 ; SYNCRO SCAN :


    That next-to-last item is:
    0000500F: 0 ; FRAME RATE: DEFAULT

    You can ignore everything after the semicolon; the semicolon indicates that it's a "comment" and will have no bearing on anything else (so, in this example, the part that says "; FRAME RATE: DEFAULT " is useless, it affects nothing, it's just there for human-readable description).

    So the relevant part is:
    0000500F: 0

    The only thing you would want to change is that last number (in this case, "0"). To get different frame rates, use one of the following numbers:

    0 = DEFAULT
    1 = 2fps
    2 = 3fps
    3 =4fps
    4 = 6fps
    5 = 8fps
    6 = 10fps
    7 = 12fps
    8 = 14fps
    9 = 16fps
    10 = 18fps
    11 = 20fps
    12 = 22fps
    13 = 23fps
    14 = 24fps
    16 = 26fps
    17 = 27fps
    18 = 28fps
    19 = 30fps
    20 = 32fps
    21 = 34fps
    22 = 36fps
    23 = 38fps
    24 = 40fps
    25 = 42fps
    26 = 44fps
    27 = 46fps
    28 = 48fps
    29 = 50fps
    30 = 52fps
    32 = 54fps
    33 = 56fps
    34 = 58fps
    35 = 60fps
    36+ = repeat of sequence from 50fps to 60fps

    So, for example, if you wanted to get a frame rate of 2 FPS, your modified line would look like this:
    0000500F: 1 ; FRAME RATE: DEFAULT

    And if you wanted 44 fps, it would look like this:
    0000500F: 26 ; FRAME RATE: DEFAULT

    (don't try higher than 35; I tried 36 and it set it to 50fps, 37 set it to 52, so I think it just repeats 50-60 for all fields set higher than 36)

    4) Save your modified text file back onto your SD card

    5) Put the SD card back in the camera, go to CARD FUNCTIONS, and read the scene files into the camera.

    Now, when you go to the appropriate scene file, you'll see the new frame rate there. But be aware, the only way to assign these "nonstandard" frame rates is through the SD card. If you use the menu to try to change the frame rate, you'll lose it -- it'll immediately jump to 60, and then only allow the normal rates to be selected. You'd have to re-load the scene file from the SD card in order to re-establish your "nonstandard" frame rate.


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #29
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by icicle22
    You can do that already in one of the supported modes.
    Not like this you can't... with the 2fps mode, you can set the shutter to 350 degrees and get an exposure time of almost 1/2 of a second! That's what makes the new slower frame rates so cool. Check the shot up above of the cars...

    It's true you could always simulate 2fps (or 1fps or even slower, up to 10-minute intervals between frames) by using the intervalometer, but I don't think you could come anywhere near getting this type of long-duration exposure when doing that...


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #30
    Senior Member hvpz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    paris, france
    Posts
    349
    Default
    Barry,

    Can we assume that the missing value 15 (0000500F: 15 ) could be for 25 fps...

    To be clearer that the NTSC model can support PAL default frame rate...


    Reply With Quote
     

Page 3 of 25 FirstFirst 123456713 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •