Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. Collapse Details
    Editing 5.5k raw video canon 1dx mark iii or r5??? Any problem with replay?
    #1
    Senior Member hasselblad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    144
    Default
    Is there anybody who owns the new canon 1dx or r5 who has experience editing raw 4k, 5.5k video on computer? Some people claim that rendering footage and editing is extremely hard because of the computing demand of footage? Any real life experience? Raw is great but useless if computers are not up to the task...


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    7,862
    Default
    Almost all will not be up to the task. Extremely processor-intensive. Need to transcode.

    For reference (it's best to watch the entire video): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zWaFOQTbZ88

    New ARM Macs should be divine.


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    123
    Default
    Check my response on GETDPI ... the Raw is not difficult ... the HEVC 4:2:2 is difficult.


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    7,862
    Default
    Yeah, I missed the word "raw" because there is no 4K raw...the 10-bit H.265 is the main problem!


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    123
    Default
    And one of the biggest advantages ... I resisted buying the S1H ... 4:2:0 ... not a color depth I preferred.

    I will definitely play with the HEVC on my iPadPro ... may retire the Mac Pro 5.1 tower if the new Apple GPU is that good ... as
    long as Davinci Resolve supports it.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member hasselblad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    144
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by NorBro View Post
    Almost all will not be up to the task. Extremely processor-intensive. Need to transcode.

    For reference (it's best to watch the entire video): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zWaFOQTbZ88

    New ARM Macs should be divine.
    Thanks!!!


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member hasselblad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    144
    Default
    So raw is easier to process than already processed footage coming from the camera....


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    7,862
    Default
    Yes, until more hardware is optimized to handle that compressed/processed footage better (and it will be).

    EDIT: FWIW, transcoding is different if you were thinking about that by any chance.
    Last edited by NorBro; 07-31-2020 at 11:55 AM.


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Posts
    327
    Default
    Actually the Raw seems to be better than the All files


    Reply With Quote
     

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •