Page 1 of 9 12345 ... LastLast
  1. Collapse Details
    walk and talk scenes how to accomplish
    Hey,
    Thanks for taking a look. I'm an indy filmmaker - making no budget features.
    One shot i do a lot is 2 actors walking and talking walking down a block.
    I've purchased the Zhiyun-Tech CRANE 3 a year back trying to get that shot. Didn't work out so good.
    Walking backwards, trying to compose, not much luck.
    Was about to pull the trigger on the steadimate-s and ronin-s - but again i would have to be walking backwards. Hadn't seen any footage online of peeps doing a don juan with this set up either.
    Was thinking recently of maybe an electric skateboard, etc.
    The best i could do was the osmo pocket and having the actor hold it with a 4th axis stabilizer. But the codec is not great and doesn't cut nicely with my bmp4k.
    Hopefully Dji makes a osmo pocket 2 soon?
    Anyway - was curious if folks had any suggestions how i might be able to get this shot for say a a couple of grand on new equipment.

If you look at the below trailer at 1:11 into it - that was shot with the osmo pocket and the actor holding a selfie stick. I thought it worked pretty good - liked how it forced the actors together.

https://vimeo.com/397998432
    Last edited by kevin baggott; 07-04-2020 at 06:34 PM.

2. Collapse Details
    I have a 7" monitor rigged to my Ronin-S handle. I can spin the handle/monitor so that the camera is pointed backwards and I'm walking forwards/away from the actors. I'm sure you can do it on the crane as well

3. Collapse Details
    In an ideal world, you'll have second person 'spotting' for you - ie walking forwards guiding you with their hand on your back. It's their job to make sure you don't trip or fall. You also need to walk the shot without the camera to get a feel for where you will be and spot any potential hazards.
    "There is nothing permanent except change."
    Heraclitus

www.liamhall.net
    TWITTER: @WordsbyLiam