Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. Collapse Details
    Audio Buzz When Connecting Camera and Recorder Via HDMI
    #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    5
    Default
    Hi - I am doing a shoot tomorrow and have just noticed that I get an annoying audio buzz when I connect my Panasonic GH5 to my Tascam DR-701D via HDMI. I want to have them connected to take advantage of the timecode sync over HDMI feature of the two units.
    Any helpful suggestions gratefully received!


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    7,239
    Default
    Where is the buzz coming from? Camera or recorder?

    (From hardware, camera files, or recorder files?)


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    5
    Default
    I'm picking up the buzz on my headphones which are connected to the DR-701D recorder. I have two electret condenser mics attached via XLR and the audio is beautifully quiet until I make the HDMI connection.


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    7,239
    Default
    Have you listened to the files? Buzz?

    Phantom power on/off?

    Does changing any other settings help? (HDMI timecode settings?)

    Did you try another cable?

    Does starting the unit with the HDMI plugged in help? Or plugging and unplugging while it's on? (Do this at your own risk.)

    ___

    I would play around and troubleshoot this one if you don't get any other responses.


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member James0b57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5,226
    Default
    Quote Originally Posted by The Jeep View Post
    Hi - I am doing a shoot tomorrow and have just noticed that I get an annoying audio buzz when I connect my Panasonic GH5 to my Tascam DR-701D via HDMI. I want to have them connected to take advantage of the timecode sync over HDMI feature of the two units.
    Any helpful suggestions gratefully received!
    Sounds like a grounding issue. Find a way to balance your signal somehow. Might just be a polarity switch. Might be the way you are connecting. HDMI can have issues. I have killed a couple monitors because of HDMI. They just died. I believe there was an issue with grounding.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Moderator Alex H.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Knoxville, TN
    Posts
    8,150
    Default
    If adding a cable also adds a buzz, it’s likely a grounding issue (or an RF issue, but a constant buzz/hum is more likely ground).

    Quote Originally Posted by James0b57 View Post
    HDMI can have issues. I have killed a couple monitors because of HDMI. They just died. I believe there was an issue with grounding.
    This. And again, if adding the cable is what added the noise:

    Quote Originally Posted by NorBro View Post
    Did you try another cable?
    That’s your first variable to eliminate.

    If you really want to be thorough, start at the source and eliminate variables from there on down the signal chain until you eliminate the buzz. So start with the camera: do you have another camera you can swap out to see if you get the same result? If you do that, and still have the issue, then try a new HDMI cable. If you try a new HDMI cable and still have the issue, the problem may be in the recorder. But the cable is the cheapest and easiest thing to swap out.
    Nobody notices audio... until it's not there.

    Find Me on Instagram


    1 out of 1 members found this post helpful.
    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member James0b57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    5,226
    Default
    so good


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    5
    Default
    Thank you all for your most helpful suggestions. I'll try a few things and let you know how I get on thumbsup:


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #9
    Senior Member Rick R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Planet X
    Posts
    2,474
    Default
    If it is a ground loop issue, try powering all the interconnected components from the same AC outlet.


    Reply With Quote
     

  10. Collapse Details
    #10
    Sound Ninja Noiz2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Detroit & SF
    Posts
    6,386
    Default
    If any of the devices are on AC power try using batteries. Some devices have wanky grounding scheme's that can cause problems.
    Cheers
    SK


    Scott Koue
    Web Page
    Noiz on Noise


    ďIt ainít ignorance that causes all the troubles in this world, itís the things that people know that ainít soĒ

    Edwin Howard Armstrong
    creator of modern radio


    Reply With Quote
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •