Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. Collapse Details
    S1H shutter lock in video?
    #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    679
    Default
    Is there any trick to keeping the shutter locked when shooting video? I have Iris in the front dial and shutter in the read dial. When doing fast clip to next clip, at times I find the shutter changing. This is all handheld shooting where we are on boats, so at times a hand for balance. Things happen fast and I know my thumb hits it. So I tried switching them around and putting shutter in the front. Still do it at times. Use to the FS7 MK2 where I can lock it and not worry.

    I know practice will help and I only have short time with the camera. But a lock in the menu or function button would be a smart move. Unless there is a options others have found? Thanks
    Last edited by Paul Cronin; 01-19-2020 at 06:29 AM.


    Reply With Quote
     

  2. Collapse Details
    #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    679
    Default
    Fifty views, either no one has any options? Or others are just as interested in an option as me?


    Reply With Quote
     

  3. Collapse Details
    #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    8,408
    Default
    If you can't choose the dial to do nothing (with some cameras you can) then maybe change both to aperture so at least you'd be changing that and it might not matter as much. Other than that, I doubt there's a way to lock the shutter but I don't know which camera settings are available.


    Reply With Quote
     

  4. Collapse Details
    #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    679
    Default
    Interesting thought, Both aperture is worth a try and then assign wheel to ss. Will look into that option and report back. Thanks

    Retired, when did that happen? Not long ago I thought you were still hard at it?


    Reply With Quote
     

  5. Collapse Details
    #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Missoula Montana
    Posts
    1,017
    Default
    I use the lock lever settings to lock touch screen and dial. That disables both dials when in lock mode.


    Reply With Quote
     

  6. Collapse Details
    #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    679
    Default
    Thanks, I found that and used it at times. But if I am moving around and still need quick aperture adjustment, that means lock on and off. Could be a move I get down. Is there a way to not have one dial lock?


    Reply With Quote
     

  7. Collapse Details
    #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    679
    Default
    Out the door, but I might have found an option. In Set Dial, I can make the back dial another function. Then have SS set to angle and keep it at 180. Worth a look, will check it out latter. Not my normal deal using angle since just moving shutter around a bit has worked for me.


    Reply With Quote
     

  8. Collapse Details
    #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Missoula Montana
    Posts
    1,017
    Default
    I do think Panasonic should enable more control over those two dials I only use manual lenses with no electronics so I’m fine just disabling both but for others it’s a hassle and a change in shutter speed can be slow to detect and problematic in post


    Reply With Quote
     

  9. Collapse Details
    #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    679
    Default
    Glad you agree, maybe Panasonic can do something in a firmware update?

    Would love to have full manual, Full Frame zoom glass, but have not found the right options in my budget.


    Reply With Quote
     

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •